Showing posts with label Redding. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Redding. Show all posts

Sunday, July 12, 2026

THE GHOST SIGN OF REDDING'S FORMER SWIMMING HOLE.


Video filmed on location July 10, 2026.


An often-overlooked and rapidly fading painted vintage sign remains on one of the bridge piers of Redding's historic Diestelhorst Bridge. It is frequently overshadowed by the better-known Redding Regatta painted sign nearby, which is accompanied by a historical marker explaining its significance. Yet this lesser-known sign is an equally compelling reminder of the former municipal swimming resort and popular swimming hole that operated here from 1920 to 1929. Today, it can only be viewed up close by watercraft on the Sacramento River or by swimming to the bridge pier through the river's frigid, swift-moving current, making it one of Redding's most elusive and overlooked historic relics. The nearby Regatta sign commemorates the annual water carnival era that later became a celebrated part of Redding's riverfront history, while this fading advertisement quietly preserves another chapter of the site's recreational past.




Wednesday, May 27, 2026

The Disappearance of Ruth (Bedford) Rhoades-Knight: A MURDER AT THE OLD SPANISH MINE.


The historic Old Spanish mine was located and prospected by local miners before, the year 1894, and was once a lucrative producer of gold in the boundaries of the Lower Springs Mining District, near Redding, California, which was later subdivided into a local neighborhood with modern homes. Its adits and winzes were also plugged for safety reasons at that time as well. However, its history can still be documented, and this former mining property is where Shasta County authorities removed the remains of Mrs. Ruth (Bedford) Rhoades-Knight who went missing from Marysville, California, in 1945, eighty-one years ago. Mrs. Knight's gruesome murder occurred at the Old Spanish mine, and her body was dumped into a 60-foot winze of this mine by her husband, Louis Barney Knight. For those of you who are true crime fans I hope you enjoy this episode of Exploring Shasta County history as I trace the life and chilling murder of Mrs. Ruth (Bedford) Rhoades-Knight whose tragic story has become forgotten over the years. She is buried in the Anderson District Cemetery in Anderson, California. For more information click the YouTube link below, please watch, like, comment, share and subscribe to my YouTube channel.


RESOURCES:

1900 U.S. Census

1910 U.S. Census

1920 U.S. Census

1930 U.S. Census

1940 U.S. Census

Woman's Body Found in Mine is Identified - The Sacramento Union newspaper of Sacramento, July 21, 1946

Hubby Held In Mine Death - The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, July 22, 1946

California Authorities Enroute to Return 1st Degree Murder Suspect - The Daily Herald newspaper of Provo, Utah, July 23, 1946

Man Will Face Slaying Probe - The Albuquerque Tribune newspaper of Albuquerque, New Mexico, July 23, 1946

The Deseret News newspaper of Salt Lake City, Utah, July 23, 1946

Knight Waves Extradition in Shasta Slaying - The Sacramento Bee newspaper of Sacramento, July 24, 1946

Slain Woman's Husband Held on Murder Charge - The Chico Record newspaper of Chico, July 24, 1946

Knight Agrees to Face Wife’s Death Inquiry - The Albuquerque Journal newspaper of Albuquerque, New Mexico, July 25, 1946

Man Held in Utah for Shasta Death - The Salinas Californian newspaper of Salinas - July 25, 1946

Knight Waves Extradition in Mine Slaying - The Sacramento Union newspaper of Sacramento, July 25, 1946 

Knight Declares That Wife Killed Self - The Shasta Courier newspaper of Shasta, July 25, 1946

The Almost Perfect Crime - The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, July 25, 1946

Suspect Admits Striking Wife With Hatchet Officers Say -  The Salt Lake Tribune newspaper of Salt Lake City, Utah, July 25, 1946

Mine Murder Count Names Louis Knight - The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, July 25, 1946

Knight is Taken to Murder Scene at Shasta Mine - The Sacramento Bee newspaper of Sacramento, July 26, 1946

Knight Craves Water; Has Sheriff Shake Rain Water Onto His Face - The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, July 26, 1946

Knight Declares Wife Suicide - The Redding Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, July 26, 1946

Knight to Stand Murder Trial - The Sacramento Bee newspaper of Sacramento, July 26, 1946

Officer Studies Knight Murder Car - The Daily Herald newspaper of Provo, Utah, July 26, 1946

Knight's Story Unchanged at Murder Scene - The Sacramento Union newspaper of Sacramento, July 27, 1946

Coroner's Jury Indicts Knight - The Sacramento Union newspaper of Sacramento, July 29, 1946

Knight is Held Responsible for Death of Wife - The Sacramento Bee newspaper of Sacramento, July 29, 1946 

Jury Names Knight As Slayer - the Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, July 29, 1946

Knight May Get Hearing Tomorrow - The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, July 30, 1946

Knight Sticks to Same Story - The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, July 31, 1946

Knight Confesses Slaying - The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, August 1, 1946

Knight Arraignment Continued; Toung-Slip Helped Break Case - The Redding Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, August 2, 1946

Delay is Granted Confessed Wife Slaying for Plea - The Sacramento Bee newspaper of Sacramento, August 2, 1946

Knight Admits Wife Murder - The Sacramento Union newspaper of Sacramento, August 2, 1946

Knight Given Delay Before Making Plea - The Sacramento Daily Union newspaper of Sacramento, August 3, 1946

Slip of Tongue Brings Confession in Knight Case - The Chico Record newspaper of Chico, August 4, 1946

Knight Arraignment Continued; Tongue Slip Helped Case - The Shasta Courier newspaper of Shasta, August 8, 1946

Knight Given Postponement- The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, August 13, 1946

The Daily Herald newspaper of Provo, Utah, August 14, 1946

Body of Former El Dorado Woman Discovered in Mine - The El Dorado Springs Sun newspaper of El Dorado Springs, Missouri, August 15, 1946

Knight Guilty; Goes to Prison - The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, September 3, 1946

Knight Pleads Guilty to Wife Slaying Charge - The Sacramento Bee newspaper of Sacramento, September 4, 1946

Louis Knight Gets Five Year to Life for Murder of Wife - The Daily Herald newspaper of Provo, Utah, September 5, 1946

Knight Sentenced in Wife Slaying - The Albuquerque Journal newspaper of New Mexico, September 5, 1946

Engineer Captured at Provo, Draws Sentence in Killing - The Salt Lake Tribune newspaper of Salt Lake City, Utah, September 5, 1946

Wife Slayer Seeks Parole - The Shasta Courier newspaper of Shasta, February 12, 1948

North State Felons - The Sacramento Bee newspaper of Sacramento, March 30, 1948

California, U.S., Prison and Correctional Records, 1851-1950 for Louis Knight

1950 U.S. Census

The Sacramento Bee newspaper of Sacramento, January 24, 1950

Three Convicts Appeal Terms - The Shasta Courier newspaper of Shasta, January 26, 1950

Parole Denied - The Sacramento Bee newspaper of Sacramento, March 27, 1950

Authority Acts on Parole Requests - The Redding Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, March 18, 1953

The Sacramento Bee newspaper of Sacramento, April 8, 1954

Murder of 1945 to be Reviewed - The Redding Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, January 8, 1955

The Sacramento Bee newspaper of Sacramento, March 24, 1955

Man 79, Gets Prison for Molesting Girl, 8 - The Sacramento Union newspaper of Sacramento, October 11, 1967

Bob L. Knight Obituary - The Sacramento Union newspaper of Sacramento, May 20, 1969

Tuesday, April 14, 2026

A PIONEER LUMBER MERCHANT OF CALIFORNIA: JOSEPH EMMET TERRY (1863-1934) & THE TERRY LUMBER COMPANY.


Joseph Emmet Terry, (1863-1934).


Joseph Emmet Terry was a prominent California pioneer lumber merchant, magnate, and the founder of the Terry Lumber Company, which later evolved into the Shasta Land and Timber Company, and played a vital role in the development of the timber industry in Shasta County, California. Come learn about Terry's family, his dealings as well as his businesses. In this episode of Exploring Shasta County history, we also visit sites formerly owned by Joseph E. Terry in Round Mountain and in Bella Vista. Terry Mill Road in Round Mountain is named after his sawmill which formerly operated along the roadside there and it still bears his surname today. The pioneer is buried in the Terry family plot at the historic Old Sacramento City Cemetery in Sacramento, California. Click the link to learn more. Please like, share, comment, and if you haven't yet - SUBSCRIBE to my You Tube Channel.




Filmed on locations.







Resources:

1850 U.S. Census

1860 U.S. Census

1870 U.S. Census

1880 U.S. Census

The Daily Examiner newspaper of San Francisco, September 18, 1887

An Illustrated History of Sacramento County, California. By Hon. Win. J. Davis. Lewis Publishing Company 1890. Page 345-347.

Social and Personal - The Sacramento Daily Union newspaper of Sacramento, April 23, 1890

Social and Personal - The Sacramento Daily Union newspaper of Sacramento, May 3, 1890

A Prominent Citizen Gone - The Sacramento Daily Union newspaper of Sacramento, December 4, 1893

For Nearly a Million - The Sacramento Bee newspaper of Sacramento, December 26, 1893

A Heavy Bond - The Sacramento Daily Union newspaper of Sacramento, December 27, 1893

The Free Press newspaper of Redding, May 25, 1897

A Great Bargain - The Sacramento Union newspaper of Sacramento, May 30, 1897

A Big Deal - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, June 1, 1897

The Shasta Lumber Company – The Daily Free Press newspaper of Redding, June 1, 1897

Friend & Terry - The Daily Free Press newspaper of Redding, June 13, 1897

Friend & Terry - The Daily Free Press newspaper of Redding, June 15, 1897

For Shasta's Lumber - The Examiner newspaper of San Francisco, June 16, 1897

The Daily Free Press newspaper of Redding, June 16, 1897

Friend & Terry - The Free Press newspaper of Redding, June 19, 1897

The Daily Free Press newspaper of Redding, June 28, 1897

Wages Reduced - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, June 29, 1897

Preparing to Cut Lumber - The Daily Free Press newspaper of Redding, July 1, 1897

The Bella Vista Lumber Yard Sold - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, July 6, 1897

The Daily Free Press newspaper of Redding, July 22, 1897

At the Limber Camp - The Daily Free Press newspaper of Redding, July 23, 1897

Lumber Manufacturing - The Republican Free Press newspaper of Redding, August 14, 1897

Work in the Woods - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, October 5, 1897

The Daily Free Press newspaper of Redding, November 13, 1897

Death of Enright - The Daily Free Press newspaper of Redding, December 6, 1897

A Boom in Lumber - The Free Press newspaper of Redding, January 22, 1898

Mill Closed Down - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, January 26, 1898

The Free Press newspaper of Redding, March 19, 1898

The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, March 22, 1898

The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, June 28, 1898

The Terry Lumber Company - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, August 2, 1898

A Bad Accident - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, August 3, 1898

The Daily Free Press newspaper of Redding, September 22, 1898 (building new bunker at Round Mountain.)

The Terry Lumber Mill - The Daily Free Press newspaper of Redding, September 23, 1898

Railroad to the Roost - The Daily Free Press newspaper of Redding, January 28, 1899

That Railroad Rumor - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, January 31, 1899

Bridge the Sacramento - The Free Press newspaper of Redding, February 11, 1899

Mills Start Up Soon - The Daily Free Press newspaper of Redding, March 11, 1899

1900 U.S. Census

Disputed Street Way - The Daily Free Press newspaper of Redding, January 11, 1900

Old Terry Mill Is Now In Full Blast - The Free Press newspaper of Redding, May 2, 1901

Day and Night - The Free Press newspaper of Redding, June 21, 1901

Dr. Coffey Marries A Belle in Sacramento - The San Francisco Call newspaper of San Francisco, July 10, 1902

A Farm for Breeding Blue-Blooded Horses - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, June 13, 1903

The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, September 1, 1903

J.E. Terry's Dogs Capture Honors - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, January 17, 1904

Incendiaries Burn Terry's Lumber Yard - The Free Press newspaper of Redding, May 20, 1904

One of Terry's Mills Has Closed - The Free Press newspaper of Redding, November 4, 1904

Fell From Terry Lumber Flume and Badly Hurt - The Free Press newspaper of Redding, November 4, 1904

Redding Lumber to Bella Vista - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, April 6, 1905

Both Mills Will Run Night and Day - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, June 26, 1906

Went North to Buy Lumber - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, September 8, 1906

Terry's Mill Swept Away by a Raging Flood of Water - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, November 5, 1906

Terry Mill Will Start Up Monday - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, December 25, 1906

Lost in Woods and Perished -  The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, December 27, 1906

Day and a Quarter Shifts - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, February 19, 1907

The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, April 9, 1907

Terry’s Mill Started Up - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, April 9, 1907

Lumber Plants of Northern California - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, April 20, 1907

Lumber Season Ends at Round Mountain - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, December 10, 1907

1910 U.S. Census

Fire Wipes Out Shasta Plant - The Sacramento Union newspaper of Sacramento, June 16, 1910

Repair Timber Railroads - The Sacramento Daily Union newspaper of Sacramento, July 27, 1910

The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, January 5, 1911

Bank of Shasta Fails for $300,000 - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, March 26, 1911

Deposits Fell Off $382, 000 In A Year - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, March 27, 1911

Bank of Shasta County Closed Its Doors Saturday - The Shasta Courier newspaper of Shasta, March 28, 1911

Bank Situation Is Uncleared - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, March 30, 1911

Depositors of Bank Assemble and Complete Permanent Organization - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, April 7, 1911

Bank of Shasta County and First Savings Bank of Shasta in Liquidation - The Courier-Free Press of Redding, April 10, 1911

Bank Collapse Due to Huge Overdraft - The San Francisco Examiner newspaper of San Francisco, April 10, 1911

Terry Promises to Make Good to Bank - The Sacramento Star newspaper of Sacramento, April 10, 1911

Affairs of Bank of Shasta to be Wound Up by Banking Board - The Sacramento Bee newspaper of Sacramento, April 10, 1911

None of the Public's Business Says Terry - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, April 11, 1911

Shasta Bank's Wreck Worse Than Thought - The San Francisco Examiner newspaper of San Francisco, April 11, 1911

Terry Said to be Coming Through - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, April 13, 1911

Mitchell Thinks Facts Were Misrepresented - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, April 14, 1911

Depositors Committee Confers with Directors and Bank Stockholders - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, April 15, 1911

Bush Tells About Big Loans - The Sacramento Bee newspaper of Sacramento,

The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, April 18, 1911

$46,000 Will Go to Pay the Depositors - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, May 5, 1911

Bank of Shasta's Deals Explained - The San Francisco Examiner newspaper of San Francisco, May 6, 1911

J.E. Terry Takes the Financial Situation Very Much to Heart - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, May 17, 1911

The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, May 19, 1911

Bank Depositors Hold Big Meeting - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, May 20, 1911

Big Borrowers Threatened with Prosecution by the Shasta Bank Depositors - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, May 21, 1911

Terry to Pay $100,000 And Give Securities for Balance of Loan - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, May 30, 1911

Grand Jury Probing Terry $205,000 Loan - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, June 20, 1911

Terry Tried to Withdraw His $100,000 Offer - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, June 20, 1911

Reason for Trying to Withdraw Offer - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, July 10, 1911

Tells Why He Withdrew $100,000 Compromise - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, July 11, 1911

J.E. Terry - Wendling Conspiracy to Defraud Bank of Shasta County - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, July 16, 1911

Bank of Shasta Shortage is $110,386.75 - The Sacramento Bee newspaper of Sacramento, January 23, 1912

The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, March 1, 1912

R.R. Extension to Ingot - The Sacramento Daily Union newspaper of Sacramento, March 24, 1912

Impressions of the Day at Terry’s - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, July 16, 1912

The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, August 23, 1912

Anderson Enjoys Prosperity - The Sacramento Daily Union newspaper of Sacramento, December 20, 1912

Survey Party Goes Out on Terry Road - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, February 8, 1913

Reorganizing Terry Lumber Interests - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, May 7, 1913

Shasta Land and Timber Company Organized with Capital of One Million - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, May 9, 1913

Terry Organizes Big Lumber Company - The Sacrament Bee newspaper of Sacramento, May 9, 1913

Terry Interests Are Reorganized - The Sacramento Daily Union newspaper of Sacramento, May 9, 1913

The Shasta Courier newspaper of Shasta, June 27, 1913

Traction Engine Stripped of Cogs Backs Down Hill - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, September 6, 1913

Twenty Million Feet Cut During 1913 at Terry’s Mill - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, December 10, 1913

Shasta Land & Timber to Resume Work Right Away - The Searchlight newspaper of April 11, 1916

Terry Mills to Be Opened Soon - The Shasta Courier newspaper of Shasta, June 27, 1916

Terry Property Being Inspected - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, July 29, 1916

Bella Vista Mill Employs 300 Men - The Sacramento Union newspaper of Sacramento August 6, 1916

Starting Up at Terry's - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, March 27, 1917

Morse Originator of Famous Shasta Lumber Flume - The Chico Record newspaper of Chico, May 5, 1917

Notice of Commissioners Sale of Real Property - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, November 1, 1918

Terry Holdings Are to Be Sold November 23 - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, October 12, 1918

Terry Property is Sold for $180,000 - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, November 24, 1918

The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, July 17, 1919

Buying What's Left of Terry Property - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, September 27, 1919

1920 U.S. Census

Terry Timber Property Reported Sold to Red River Lumber Company - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, January 15, 1920

Terry Lands Are Sold to Walker Company – The Red Bluff Daily News newspaper of Red Bluff, January 17, 1920

Walkers Improving Lumber Property – The Sacramento Union newspaper of Sacramento, January 27, 1920

Red River Lumber Company Purchases Terry Land Mill - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, March 12, 1920

$23,080.12 Taxes Paid to Redeem Terry Property - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, March 26, 1920

Red River Lumber Company Will Employ 500 Men; Railroad Purchased - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, March 31, 1920

Huge Prices for Lumber Stirs Industry - The Shasta Courier newspaper of Shasta, May 21, 1920

Creditors Get Last Payments - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, September 24, 1920

The Sacramento Daily Union newspaper of Sacramento, March 20, 1921

The Sacramento Daily Union newspaper of Sacramento, March 1, 1922 (oil)

May Develop Terry Timber – The Sacramento Union newspaper of Sacramento, January 28, 1920

1930 U.S. Census

Pioneer Woman, 100, Honored; O' Shaughnessy Passes 70 Mark - The San Francisco Examiner newspaper of San Francisco, May 29, 1934

Joseph Terry Dies Suddenly - The Sacramento Daily Union newspaper of Sacramento, June 3, 1934

Funeral is Held in Capital for Joseph E. Terry - The Sacramento Daily Union newspaper of Sacramento, June 4, 1934

California, U.S., San Francisco Area Funeral Home Records, 1895-1985 for Joseph E Terry Book No: 27 - Page: 305

U.S., Family History Books for Joseph Emmet Terry



Mrs. Laura Terry, Pioneer of 1856, Succombs - The San Francisco Examiner newspaper of San Francisco, April 5, 1938

Terry - The San Francisco Examiner newspaper of San Francisco, April 6, 1938

Flumes, Steam Tractors Hauled Lumber in Early Days - The Shasta Courier newspaper of Shasta, July 17, 1947

The Red River Legend Lives - The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, January 22, 1981

Today In History - The Redding Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, November 28, 2000

Thursday, March 5, 2026

CALIFORNIA STATE SENATOR, JOHN BENJAMIN McCOLL (1893-1938): THE FOUNDER OF McCOLL'S DAIRY IN REDDING, CALIFORNIA.


Filmed on location February 14, 2026.



Come check out the final resting place of local Redding politician, Senator John Benjamin McColl (1893-1938), the founder of McColl's Dairy in Redding, California who is interred in the East Lawn Memorial Park at Sacramento, California, as I chase Shasta County history in the state capital. You might remember him from my episode on McColl's Dairy at this link here.

Tuesday, February 17, 2026

The McKnight Quadruplets of Bella Vista: A Mix of Joy and Tragedy.


Filmed on location.


Come experience a bittersweet moment in this episode of Exploring Shasta County history which is set in 1915 at Bella Vista, California, when Nancy (Shaw) McKnight unexpectedly, extraordinarily, and historically gave birth to the first set of quadruplet babies in Shasta County history. That's right! A set of four! Two boys, and two girls! What a sensation it was for the mother of these newborns who was aged thirty-seven-years-old, at the time, and a mother of ten previous children, as well as a two-time grandmother who achieved national fame for birthing her quadruplets. Her husband, sixty-year-old Charles O. McKnight was employed as a lumberman at the Terry Lumber Company in Bella Vista. Press play, on the video and or in the link provided to find out more. Please like, share, comment and if you haven't yet, please, subscribe to my YouTube channel.


Resources:

Quadruplets At Bella Vista - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, March 11, 1915

Bella Vista Mother Gives Birth Four Babies In Short Space of Four Hours - The Searchlight newspaper office Redding, March 12, 1915

Mrs. McKnights 4 Babies Coming Along Famously - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, March 13, 1915

“Dottie” Is the Name of Youngest and Tiniest of the Quadruplets - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, March 14, 1915

Death Claims One McKnight Baby - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, March 15, 1915

Life’s Short Span - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, March 16, 1915

Death of Quadruplet Spoils Show Chances - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, March 16, 1915

Joseph Terry Is the Only Cry Baby of the Three Surviving Quadruplets - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, March 18, 1915

Death Calls Another Quadruplet - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, March 21, 1915

Last of the Quadruplets Are Called by Death - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, March 23, 1915

Four Babes in 2 Hours to 105 Pound Mother, Aged 40 - The Galena Daily Gazette of Galena, Illinois - March 12, 1915

Couple to Whom Stork Brought Four at Once - The Tacoma Times newspaper of Tacoma, Washington, March 19, 1915

Days News Condensed - The Chicago-Livestock World newspaper of Chicago, Illinois, April 6, 1915

The Potsdam Herald-Recorder of Potsdam, New York, April 30, 1915


Saturday, February 7, 2026

DEVLOPING THE KUTRAS TRACT OF REDDING: A HISTORY OF A WEALTHY TRACT OF LAND WHICH WAS HOME TO THE SHASTA AGGREGATE PLANT, KUTRAS PARK, THE KUTRAS RIVERSIDE ADDITION AND THE PARK MARINA VILLAGE.


Filmed on location.

On this episode of Exploring Shasta County history, we examine the history of the Kutras Tract, a piece of property which dates to 1935 and was purchased by Christ Kutras a Greek native, Redding resident and a local restaurant owner who owned this exclusive land east of Redding beside Turtle Bay. Eventually Kutras leased parts of this property to Redding local Robert "Bob" C. Spaid, who along with his wife Shirlee Spaid, played a major role in developing this land upon the Sacramento River along Thames Drive, (now present-day Park Marina Drive).

Who remembers live music and dancing at Kutras Park? Who remembers playing miniature golf here at Kutras Park Incorporated later Park Marina Golf Course? Who remembers swimming at the beach at Kutras Lake? Perhaps you remember the carousel and pony rides? Who remembers the quarter midget racers and racetrack or perhaps you might remember Bounceville? Take a trip down memory lane with me as we dive into this modern-day history.

All of that plus additional fond memories are shared in this video. Joining with me in this episode in an exclusive interview I conducted is Shirlee Spaid the former wife of the late Bob C. Spaid, the Park Marina developer, their daughter Sandy (Spaid) Williams and Sandy's husband, John Williams. Shirlee Spaid was the last owner of Park Marina Golf Course before she sold it to the McConnell Foundation who turned it into a present-day park. It's an episode you don't want to miss.


RESOURCES: 

Council Acts to Get Water for Redding - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, September 25, 1936

Option Taken on Kutras Tract - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, January 22, 1937

Balance Paid on Kutras Tract - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, July 8, 1938

Redding May Get New Plant - -The Redding Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, May 29, 1939

Use of Kutras Tract Urged by Bourbons - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, July 7, 1939

Shasta Gravel Job One of the World's Largest - The Redding Record Searchlight newspaper of June 8, 1939

$4,413,320 Low Bid for Shasta Dam Sand Gravel Plant - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, June 10, 1939

$4,413,000 Kutras Contract Let –The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, August 2, 1939 

Crew Surveys Kutras Tract – The Courier- Free Press newspaper of Redding, August 4, 1939

Dick Recommends That P.G. & E. Serves the Kutras Area - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, August 14, 1939

The Redding Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, August 15, 1939 

Work Starts on Buildings for Kutras Tract Plant - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, August 18, 1939

To Decide on Method of Transporting Aggregate to Dam Site by Wednesday – The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, October 13, 1939 

World’s Longest Conveyor Belt, 9.6 Miles, Will Carry Redding Gravel to Shasta Dam – The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, October 27, 1939

Excavate For Piers and Abutments Near Redding, Shasta Dam – The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, November 10, 1939

Start Building Mill on Kutras Tract This Week – The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, September 22, 1939

World’s Longest Conveyor Belt System Now Being Built – The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, March 10, 1940

First Gravel Arrives at The Dam Site – The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, May 6, 1940

That Election Platform - The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, September 19, 1944

Letter's to the Editor - The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, October 18, 1944

33 Ask for Kutras Tract Swimming Pool - The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, May 26, 1945

Temporary Swimming Pool - The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, May 23, 1946

Swarts Sees Pool Cost at Near $3,000 - The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, May 26, 1946

Swimming Pool - The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, June 26, 1946

Council Defers Action on Kutras Swimming Pool Plan - The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, July 16, 1946

Two Feted on Birthday at Swim Party - The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, July 16, 1946

Kutras Tract Report Wanted - The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, July 18, 1946

City Takes Years Lease on Kutras Pool - The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, July 19, 1946

Public Urged to Delay Swimming at Kutras Tract - The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, July 23, 1946

City Leases Kutras Tract Pool Until 1947 - The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, August 6, 1946

Kutras Tract Lease Signed - The Shasta Courier newspaper of Shasta, August 15, 1946

Kutras Tract Up Before Trustees - The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, July 1, 1947

Kutras Deal Off, Land May Be Subdivision - The Shasta Courier newspaper of Shasta, December 18, 1947

Engineer Gives Council Report - The Shasta Courier newspaper of Shasta, April 8, 1948

Kutras Tract Delay Okayed - The Shasta Courier newspaper of Shasta, August 5, 1948

Water for Kutras Tract Asked - The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, March 21, 1950

Water for Kutras Tract Asked - The Shasta Courier newspaper of Shasta, March 23, 1950

Council Blocks Kutras Tract Water Line - The Redding Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, April 4, 1950

Council Compromises on Kutras Water - The Redding Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, May 18, 1950

Ram Jet Will Be Shown Here - The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, August 17, 1950 (first mention of Kutras Park.)

The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, August 19, 1950

Deed - 1950-0007738 Book 340 Page 409 Grantor (2) Christ Kutras and Frances W. Kutras. Grantee (2) Shirley K. Spaid, and Robert C. Spaid. Recording date: December 12, 1950

Cooperation In Keeping Kutras Lake Clean Asked - The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, June 28, 1951

Kutras Tract Wont Flood State Finds - The Redding Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, May 16, 1953

Legal Notice - The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, April 17, 1953

Kutras Park Lounge and Ballroom advertisements - The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, August 12, 1955

The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, March 6, 1956

Young Old Grab Clubs for 18 Hole of Miniature Golf written by Al Kildow - The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, August 3, 1956

The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, September 6, 1956

The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, November 30, 1956

Quarter-Midget Racers Get Temporarily Laid Off - The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, January 18, 1957

Kutras Park Recreation Development May Include Golf Range, Ferry Boat - The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, December 3, 1958

City Closes Kutras Park Dance Hall as Fire Hazard - The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, July 21, 1959

Swim, Golf, by the River - The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, June 18, 1960

BPW Luncheon Told of Plans for Kutras Park - The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, November 27, 1962

Kutras Park Features Nearby Recreation for the Family - The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, June 5, 1964

Councilmen Hinge Park Deal to Vote - The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, July 7, 1965

Developer Withdraws Plea - The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, December 15, 1965

Planners Get Little Zoning Opposition - The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, January 27, 1966

Lease - 1966-0002907 Book 870 Page 489 Grantor (1): Frances W. Kutras. Grantee (2): Robert C. Spaid and Shirley Spaid. Recording date: February 23, 1966.

Golf Course Largest of Its Type written by Doug Detling - The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, August 5, 1967

City Planners Urge Multiple-Family Zoning at Kutras - The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, January 24, 1968

Kutras Park Takeover on Agenda - The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, April 1, 1968

Notice of non-Responsibility - 1969-0003872 Book 984 Page 654 Grantor (4) Frances W. Kutras, Robert C. Spaid, Shirley Spaid, Royal Inns of America Inc, Recorded date: March 25, 1969

Sublease - 0006023 Book 989 Page 250 Grantor (3) Frances Kutras, Robert C. Spaid, Shirley Spaid. Grantee: Royal Inns of America Inc. Recorded date: May 7, 1969.

Ground Broken for $750,000 Motel-Restaurant Complex Here written by Clifford Shelby - The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, March 27, 1969

Council Gives Tentative Ok to Spaid's Request written by Gregg Lyon - The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, March 21, 1972

Letter to the Editor - The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, October 25, 1972

The City of Redding Directory, 1974 - Kutras Recreation Incorporated (amusement place)

The City of Redding Directory, 1977 - Kutras Recreation Incorporated (amusement place) 

Builder Is Encircle by Variety - The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, February 25, 1980

The City of Redding Directory, 1982 written by Earl W. Wright Jr. - Kutras Recreation Incorporated (amusement place) - 243-4752

The Mosers: Their business is food, fun written by Art Gatts - The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, April 24, 1982

The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, September 17, 1983

Robert C Spaid in the California, U.S., Divorce Index, 1966-1984 available on Ancestry.com.

The City of Redding Directory, 1984 - Kutras Recreation Incorporated (amusement place) 

The City of Redding Directory, 1985 - Kutras Recreation Incorporated (amusement place) 

Fun and Games Come in Miniature Packages - The Redding Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, May 18, 1985

Kutras Park advertisement - The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, August 3, 1985

Kutras Property Has Rarely Gone Unnoticed written by Laura Christman - The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, December 14, 1985

Spaid Unhurt as Ultralight Lands in River - The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, December 18, 1985

The City of Redding Directory, 1986 - Name changes to Park Marina Golf Course. (amusement place) 

Spaid Still Presides Over Kutras Lake Kingdom written by Laura Christman - The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, August 23, 1986.

Redding Still Awaits State Study on Kutras Lake written by Laura Christman - The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, October 25, 1986

Movie Theater Nearly Ready - The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, September 5, 1988

The City of Redding Directory, 1989 - Park Marina Golf Course (amusement place) - (Shirley Spaid is new owner.)

Children Will Find Paradise for Fun written by Jeff Redd - The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, May 4, 1989

Fun for Kids Abounds in the North State written by Tom Sellers, The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, August 4, 1989

The City of Redding Directory, 1996 - Park Marina Golf Course (amusement place) (Shirley Spaid, owner.)

Whatever the Urge, Businesses Are Here to Stay - The Redding Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, June 4, 1997

The City of Redding Directory, 1998 - Park Marina Golf Course (amusement place) (Shirley Spaid, owner.)

The City of Redding Directory, 2001 - Park Marina Golf Course (amusement place) (Shirley Spaid, owner.)

The City of Redding Directory, 2002 - Park Marina Golf Course (amusement place) (Shirley Spaid, owner.)

Park Marina Golf Putters Out - The Redding Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding written by David Benda, February 25, 2003

Redding Gains New Park at Mini Golf Course Site - The Redding Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, April 13, 2003

The City of Redding Directory, 2004 - Not Listed

The City of Redding Directory, 2005 - Not Listed

The City of Redding Directory, 2007 - Not Listed

The City of Redding Directory, 2010 - Not Listed

Friday, December 12, 2025

First Labeled as a Townsite Which Dwindled into a Subdivision Called Santa Claus.





Filmed on location.

Perhaps you live in the present-day subdivision of Santa Claus, but don't know the history of the area and that is why your checking out this episode of Exploring Shasta County History, or perhaps you have a real interest in our local history, whatever the case may be this subdivision was originally laid out as a town site located just off of the old Buckeye Road (now Lake Boulevard). It came to fruition at the hands of Frederick A. Carmona and Orr M. Chenoweth, local Redding residents who had dreams of establishing a town site in the 1930s. Come learn about the history of Santa Claus, first labeled as a townsite which dwindled into a subdivision. It's my Christmas episode you don't want to miss as we're approaching the holiday season. Like, share, and comment on the video as well.

The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, February 25, 1938

The Sacramento Bee newspaper of Sacramento, June 8, 1938

Big Time in Boomtown - The San Francisco Chronical newspaper of San Francisco, July 1, 1938

Motoring Trip Reveals Scenes Near Shasta Dam - The Sacramento Bee newspaper of Sacramento, August 10, 1938 

A Melting Appeal - The San Francisco Chronicle newspaper of San Francisco, August 20, 1938

Deed Book 5, Page 32, Recording Date: September 13, 1938. Document No: 05-032 Grantor: Santa Claus Subdivision Unit No. 1, 2 pages.

Declaration of Tract Registrations for Santa Claus Subdivision Unit No. 1 Shasta County, California. By Fred A. Carmona and Orr M. Chenoweth. R. 3611, dated: September 13, 1938, pages 136-170 on file at the Shasta County Recorder's Office in Redding, California.

Santa - The San Francisco News newspaper of San Francisco, November 2, 1938

Chamber Heads Hear Protest on Buckeye Road - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, October 26, 1938

City Lots - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, January 8, 1939

More Squatters Get Notices to Move from D.A. - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, April 15, 1939

The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, June 20, 1939

Farm-City Road for Dam Area to Be Discussed -The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, June 27, 1939

Special Announcement Santa Claus Subdivision - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, October 17, 1939

The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, October 20, 1939

The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, November 5, 1939

The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, March 27, 1940

Two Blazes Caught - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, June 12, 1941

Couple Married in Santa Claus - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, November 16, 1941

Legal Notice - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, February 25, 1943

Fire Burns Brush in Santa Claus Area - The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, July 30, 1943

The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, January 19, 1945

The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, November 6, 1945

County Records - The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, April 1, 1948

Found in Cabin - The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, February 28, 1949

The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, June 4, 1949

Chamber Committee Examines New Pipe, Santa Claus - The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, November 16, 1954

Four-Lane Road Provision Urged - The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, May 10, 1955

Planners to Consider Subdivision - The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, May 12, 1955

Sewage Problems May Slow Projects - The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, May 13, 1955 

Yes, Burton, There Is a Santa Claus Town - The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, January 1, 1959

The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, December 7, 1963

Legal Notice - The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, January 10, 1964

Redding Realty advertisement - The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, April 6, 1964

The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, October 6, 1965

The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, October 8, 1965

Fred A. Carmona Appliance Store Founder, Dies - The Redding Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, December 17, 1970

Orr M. Chenoweth, 60-Year Redding Attorney Dies - The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, December 28, 1970


Tuesday, November 4, 2025

REDDING’S (OLD) SWIMMING HOLE’S.



Filmed on location.


Where was the first swimming hole located in Redding, California, what was it called, and how long did it last? What came after it? Are there still relics one could see at these places which gives us a glimpse into the past? When was the first regatta held in Redding and what was its predecessor? Find out in my newest video to date from Exploring Shasta County History, titled “Redding’s (Old) Swimming Holes”. It’s a history you’ll want to dive into…

 
RESOURCES: 

Fatal Accident - The Republican Free Press newspaper of Redding, July 15, 1893

The Republican Free Press newspaper of Redding, July 18, 1896

The Swimming Season - The Free Press newspaper of Redding, 

Pleasure Resort - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, May 6, 1903

Nearly Broke Arm While Swimming - The Free Press newspaper of Redding, August 1, 1905

Wheel Ditch Leased - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, October 11, 1905

City Trustees Are After A Water Cube - The Free Press newspaper of Redding, January 17, 1906

Cants Mixed Up With Big Wheel - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, July 21, 1906

The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, August 19, 1907

Perished While Swimming But Did Not Drown - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, July 20, 1915

Permission To Tunnel Under the City - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, March 7, 1916

Condemnation Suit - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, May 9, 1916

Compromise Affected - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, May 22, 1916

The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, May 31, 1916

The Shasta Courier newspaper of Shasta, June 2, 1916

Anderson-Cottonwood Diverting Dam Started - The Chico Record newspaper of Chico, August 4, 1916

Redding Is Missing Bet By Not Having A Swimming Resort - The Shasta Courier newspaper of Shasta, June 13, 1919

Thanksgiving Bath Planned By Lovers of Swimming Hole - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, November 25, 1919

The Water Will Be Fine, They All Say - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, January 20, 1923

All Set Ready to Go to the River - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, January 20, 1923

Redding Will Hold Water Carnival In Old Swimming Hole - The Courie-Free Press newspaper of Redding, May 22, 1923

The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, August 1, 1923

See the Committee - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, August 7, 1923

Swimming Resort Is Popular Place - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, September 4, 1923

Moving Roadway at Swimming Resort Will Make Place for Construction of Grandstand - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, April 12, 1924

Weather Ideal for Huge Chamber of Commerce Benefit Dance at River - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, April 30, 1924

At the Swimming Hole - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, May 22, 1924

Redding to Have Great Water Carnival - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, July 2, 1924

Sciots Will Stage Gigantic Attraction On Aug., 30, 31, Sept., 1 - The Shasta Courier newspaper of Shasta, July 3, 1924

Redding's Dream of a Water Carnival on the River Will be Stage by Sciots - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, July 3, 1924

Sciots Boots Water Sports - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, July 8, 1924

Sciots Offer $1,800 In Great Water Carnival Queen Contest Prizes - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, July 9, 1924

Golf and Trap Shooting Will Be Among Sports at Carnival - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, July 12, 1924

Sciot Cameraman Will Photograph Community Resort This Afternoon - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, July 13, 1924

Big Crows Turn Out at River for Pictures for Water Carnival - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, July 14, 1924

Sciots Set New Social Mark While Entertaining Guess of the Valley - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, August 1, 1924

Our Swimming Hole - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, August 7, 1924

The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, August 16, 1924

Carnival Water Sports Show Wealth of Local Material - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, September 2, 1924

Sciot Water Carnival Ends - An Aquatic, Fun  and Financial Success - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, September 4, 1924

Chamber Donates $500 for Swimming Resort - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, April 22, 1925

Redding’s Water Carnival Brings Statewide Recognition to Resort, The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, April 1925

Water Carnival Has Cash Balance of $2,000 as Nest Egg for Next Year - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, August 4, 1925

City Trustees Vote to Hire Woman Supervisor and Lifeguard at Swimming Resort - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, June 30, 1925 

Swimming Resort Will Be Same of Regular Sunday Sports Program - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, July 4, 1925

The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, July 18, 1925

Big Crowd at Swimming Hole Meet - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, July 20, 1925

Swimmers Slow to Enter the Big Water Carnival - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, July 24, 1925

Water Carnival Queen Contest Closes Next Thursday at 6 O' Clock - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, July 25, 1925

The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, July 29, 1925

Five Girls from Bay Clubs Will Swim at Carnival - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, July 30, 1925

Greatest of All Water Carnivals and Pageants Opens in a Blaze of Glory - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, August 2, 1925

Water Carnival Hits High Spot for Crowds - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, August 2, 1925

Red Bluff Liked Water Carnival - The Shasta Courier newspaper of Shasta, August 5, 1925

Water Carnival Is Praised by Smith - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, August 5, 1925

$1,000 Water Carnival Profit Anticipated by Chamber of Commerce - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, August 5, 1925

Official of Amateur Athletic Union High in His Praise for Redding's Water Carnival - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, August 8, 1925

Water Carnival Pleases Sport Executive - The Courier-Free Newspaper of Redding, August 8, 1925

Redding's Water Carnival Fame Hits New York City - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, September 3, 1925

Water Carnival Loss Approximately $250 - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, December 2, 1925

Chamber of Commerce Gets Busy on New Highway Route - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, December 3, 1925

Women's National Championship to Be Carnival Success - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, April 28, 1926

Chamber Votes to Hold Annual Water Carnival - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, May 5, 1926

Water Carnival Will Be Sponsored by the Chamber of Commerce - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, May 6, 1926

Chamber of Commerce Refuses to Sponsor 1926 Water Carnival - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, June 14, 1926

Redding In the Swim - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, July 20, 1926

Redding Water Frolic Draws Hundreds; Fireworks Feature - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, July 25, 1926

Fifteen Saved by Guards at River Resort - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, September 4, 1926

Water Carnival Gets Worldwide Publicity - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, December 16, 1926

Water Carnival Will be Staged by the Firemen - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, February 3, 1927

Highwater Damaged Children's Den at Swimming Resort - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, May 14, 1927

Automobile and Two Occupants Plunge into River - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, June 14, 1927

Large Crowd Attends Pre-Carnaval Frolic at the River Resort - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, July 19, 1927

Preparations Made for Swim Season in Redding; Dressing Rooms Plan Studied - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, May 20, 1930

Around the Town - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, July 1, 1930

Chamber Wants City to Buy Benton Land for Swimmin' Hole - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, August 6, 1930

New Raft for Lake Redding Swim Resort - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, August 9, 1930

New Raft Is Installed in Sacramento River for Redding Swimmers - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, August 10, 1930

Council Buys Tract for Municipal Swim Resort Across River - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, August 14, 1930

Eleanor Garratti Goes Under Knife - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, August 28, 1930

Homer Heck Arrested as Being Nuisance at Swimming Beach - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, August 29, 1930

Spent Night in Jail - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, August 29, 1930

Swimming Hole to be Improved - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, May 21, 1930

The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, March 25, 1931

Do You Remember? - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, April 9, 1931

Harriett Saeltzer Wins Swimming Event - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, June 13, 1931

Tillotson Says Diestelhorst Does Not Own River Island - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, April 4, 1933

Redding Water Carnival to be Revived July 15, 16 - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, May 3, 1933

Regatta Group's Report Submitted to Chamber Board - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, May 4, 1933

Regatta's Swimming Features Announced - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, June 3, 1933

Swim Plan for Regatta July 15-16, is Complete - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, June 3, 1933

Site for Lake Redding Regatta Leased by Chamber - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, June 6, 1933

Racers Signed to Enter Events of Redding Regatta - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, July 7, 1933

Superior Judge Ross Supports Regatta Event - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, July 11, 1933

Crowd Thrilled by Spills in Outboard Motor Races of Lake Redding Regatta - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, July 18, 1933

Medals Complete for Regatta Swim Events Saturday - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, July 11, 1933

Carnival Dance Is Feature of Redding Regatta - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, July 12, 1933

Harry W. Glover Gives Support to Redding Regatta - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, July 15, 1933

Lights, Flags, Cover City for Regatta Today - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, July 15, 1933

$20,000 Is Estimate of Diestelhorst Land Value - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, January 12, 1934

Committee On Lake Redding Regatta Named - The Shasta Courier newspaper of Shasta, March 8, 1934

Fireworks Display Planned for Lake Redding Regatta - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, June 23, 1939

Regatta Banners Wave on Market Street Wednesday - The Shasta Courier newspaper of Shasta, June 27, 1935

Fireworks in Daylight to Mark Regatta - The Shasta Courier newspaper of Shasta, June 27, 1935

Noted Professional Divers to Race in Lake Redding Fete - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, July 10, 1935

Dedication of Swimming Pool Will Mark Opening of 1935 Redding Regatta - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, July 11, 1935

The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, July 13, 1935

The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, July 13, 1935

Swimming Pool Formal Opening Starts Regatta - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, July 14, 1935

Third Annual Lake Redding Regatta Pronounced a Complete Success - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, July 16, 1935

Five National Champions to Compete Here in July Show - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, June 26, 1936

Concrete Stairs At City Resort Caves - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, December 21, 1937

Swimming Resort Repairs to Start - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, February 12, 1938

Work Is Started On Swimming Resort - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, February 23, 1938

Resort Concession Goes to Mrs. Sutton - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, June 1, 1938

Junior Chamber Opens 1939 Regatta Talk - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, July 26, 1938

National Stars to Swim Here - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, June 3, 1939

The Redding Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, July 14, 1939

Completion of Repairs on City’s Swimming Resort at Lake Redding Will Be in Time For 1940 Season - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, May 26, 1940 

Municipal Swimming Resort Ready as Guards on Duty - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, June 12, 1940

Swimming Starts at Redding Water Resort; Lifeguards Go on Duty - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, June 13, 1940

The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, July 20, 1941

Lake Redding’s Still Chilly, But the Water’s Getting Warmer - The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, August 10, 1944

City Protests Water Too Cold - The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, April 10, 1946

The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, June 18, 1946

70 Boat Racers Here Sunday for Lake Redding Ragatta - The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, June 2, 1949

City Opens Its $150,000 Pool - The Shasta Courier newspaper of Shasta, June 9, 1949

Outboard Divers Tune Up for Lake Redding Ragatta - The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, June 6, 1952

The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, July 28, 1953

Island In River Causes Court Fight written by Judge Albert F. Ross - The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, January 2, 1965

The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, September 29, 1965

The Old Swimming Hole Has Shrunk written by Judge Albert F. Ross - The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, October 21, 1971

Marion Dimmick Dies at 83 - The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, March 4, 1980

Bridge Brings Change to Riverside written by Adrienne Packer - The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, June 26, 1996

Snapshot In Time - The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, August 11, 2002

Tuesday, September 23, 2025

Diestelhorst's River Camp of Redding, California.


Filmed on location.

More than likely, you have been to this historic site within the City of Redding and know of its history but this presentation complete with photographs and video contains in-depth information and provides a much deeper look at the history of Diestelhorst’s River Camp, also known as the Diestelhorst auto camp which was established by John Diestelhorst in 1921. Diestelhorst was member of a Shasta County pioneer family. This site is one of the last surviving relics of a historic property in Redding, and one that contributed to the historic Route Highway 99, also known as the Pacific Highway, which became a luxurious roadside rest stop with swimming accessibility, dancing, concerts, and ample accommodations for automobiles along the scenic highway next to the state highway bridge. This site hosted many weary travelers utilizing this route over the years and business boomed for Diestelhorst. Find out more at the video above.


Resources:

Burning Chimney Fired a Dwelling - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, August 18, 1905

City Trustees Accept Plans for New Bridge - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, February 17, 1914

Bridge Plans Ready for Commissions O.K. - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, February 17, 1914

A.V. Saph - The Shasta Courier newspaper of Shasta, February 20, 1914

No Report on Bridge - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, March 12, 1914

Work On New Bridge Will Commence June 20 - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, June 12, 1914

George Baker Serves Notice on Redding - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, July 8, 1914

Baker's Cable Pole Is Taken Down - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, July 11, 1914

Many Men at Work on Redding Bridge - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, September 11, 1914

Bring them through Redding - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, April 3, 1915

George Baker First - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, July 30, 1915

Crosses Bridge - The Shasta Courier newspaper of Shasta, July 30, 1915 

City Begins Suit Against County - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, December 3, 1915 

Contractors Commence on State Highways - The Shasta Courier newspaper of Shasta, September 25, 1917

Get Busy on the Auto Park - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, February 26, 1919

Redding and the Chamber of Commerce - The Shasta Courier newspaper of Redding, September 23, 1919

Failure to Build Free Auto Camping Grounds Is Causing City to Lose $40 Per Day - The Shasta Courier newspaper of Shasta, June 10, 1919

Free Auto Camp Open - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, April 22, 1920 

Free Auto Camp Open - The Shasta Courier newspaper of Shasta, April 22, 1920

Showing of Tractors at Campground - The Shasta Courier newspaper of Shasta, September 24, 1920

Making Automobile Park Along River - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, March 25, 1921

Auto Campground - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, June 25, 1921

The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, June 30, 1921

Arch for Campground - The Shasta Courier newspaper of Shasta, July 15, 1921

Redding Has Finest Summer Camp in the North - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, July 16, 1921

Campers Attention - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, July 17, 1921

Enterprising - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, July 19, 1921

Favor Charge at Auto Camp This Summer - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, March 8, 1922

Classified Section - For Sale - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, August 20, 1922

Diestelhorst is to Have Large Open-Air Dance - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, California, April 17, 1923

Redding Will Hold Water Carnival in Old Swimming Hole - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, May 22, 1923

Dance Platform at River Soon Complete - The Shasta Courier newspaper of Shasta, June 15, 1923

Redding Will Hold Water Carnival in Old Swimming Hole - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, May 22, 1923

The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, August 16, 1923

Diestelhorst Gets Old Street Area - The Courier-Free Press of Redding, March 25, 1924

Impersonates Officer; Robs Campground - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, October 29, 1926

Sheriff Nabes Thief Suspect - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, October 29, 1926

Campground Thief - The Courier-Free Press of Redding, October 29, 1926

Sneak Thief Caught - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, October 30, 1926

Officers Busy on Traffic Mishaps - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, September 1, 1930

Flood Stage Reached by River; Inundation Near at Diestelhorst Place - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, January 15, 1936

Tension Relaxed as Respite Comes in Heavy Storms; River Is Falling - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, January 16, 1936

City Wins in Suit Over Right Away - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, July 7, 1936

Land for Span Is Purchased - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, September 24, 1938

The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, February 2, 1940

Redding Isolated - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, February 28, 1940

The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, March 1, 1940

Pictorial Story of Area's Greatest Flood - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, March 2, 1940

John Diestelhorst, Redding Pioneer, Dies - The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, January 11, 1944

Early Photo's Offers Scenes of Redding's Past - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, September 23, 1972

Redding Urged to Buy Parkland written by Tony Shultz - The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, December 1, 1972

Diestelhorst Property Still Wanted for a Park written by Al Morrell - The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, January 11, 1973

George Diestelhorst Dies at Age 80 - The Redding Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, August 7, 1973

Electrical Plant Proposal Will Be Aired - The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, August 24, 1974

Redding Council May Purchase Land for Park - The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, August 31, 1974

City of Redding Buys Diestelhorst Property - The Redding Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, September 4, 1974

Flames Destroy Old Diestelhorst Estate - The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, June 12, 1975

Earth Day Offering - The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, April 19, 2011

Highlights from history - The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, May 20, 2016





Thursday, September 11, 2025

The Casino Club & Monroe's Night Club; the Former Home of the Showcase Theatre of Redding.


Redding’s brand-new Showcase Theatre 
during January of 1968. 1899 Hilltop Drive.


Above: an advertisement from the Showcase Theatre  promoting “Grand Prix” and “The Sound of Music” from the Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, January 26, 1968.

The present-day home of the Casino Club which features Monroe's Night Club is located at 1885 Hilltop Drive in Redding, this building wasn’t always a local hotspot for dancing, karaoke, drinks, dining, and casino games for people 21 years-old and older, yet to some people’s surprise, and for those who remember it, this building was once the location of a former movie theater in Redding called the Showcase Theatre. It was one of Redding’s last single screen room movie theatres in operation during its prime.

Its original owner was Robbert L. Lippert who owned and operated the Lippert Theaters Company, also found as the Lippert Company in the historical record, and co-owned by the United Artist Theater Circuit Incorporated. This brand-new theater building was 6,000 square feet and designed by architect Gale Santocono whose company was based in San Francisco the building which cost $475,000 to erect on site next to the Sky-Vue Drive-In Theater, also on Hilltop Drive.

The Showcase Theatre opened to the public on the night of January 10, 1968, at its original address of 1899 Hilltop Drive with the Hollywood motion picture of “Grand Prix" starring actor James Garner, after the movie exited the box office it was followed by the celebrated and iconic movie release of “The Sound of Music” starring actress Julie Andrews. The silver screen at this cinema was 13 feet high and 30 feet wide for the audience to enjoy these entertaining flicks of all genres. Like today’s theater experiences the venue also offered concessions for the customers to purchase from the snack bar.

Prices were as follows: Friday, Saturday and Sunday nights and weekend matinees were $2.50 for adults and students with their student body cards were $2.00, and children were $1.  Admissions from Monday through Thursday nights including a Wednesday matinee were $2 for adults and $1.50 for students and 75 cents for children. The one-room theatre had a seating capacity of 429 semi-reclining seats.


Above: an advertisement for the 1971 film "Dirty Harry" starring Clint Eastwood is being promoted here by the Showcase Theatre. From the Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, March 4, 1972.

Just look at the design of the building’s interior when you visit this place next time. You’ll see some interior theatre designs which will intrigue you; and if you carefully look around, you’ll discover memorabilia showcasing the building's earliest history pertaining to the Hollywood movies which once premiered here, and or featured here as a rerelease. This movie theater closed down in May of 1981, after thirteen years of business serving the Redding area. The cinema showcased its final Hollywood motion picture release of “Windwalker” starring Trevor Howard on April 30, 1981.



Above: A later remodel occurred to the front of the building as shown here. This photograph was taken by Jeremy Tuggle on March 4, 2023.



Above: front sideview different angel. 
This photograph was taken by Jeremy Tuggle on March 4, 2023.


In May of 1981 it was announced that the cinema would be converted into a card playing room and that this location was just recently sold by its owners to the Casino Club, of Redding, at that time, one of the owners was Jim Westburg and his unnamed partners. After the conversion happened inside and outside the building its address at this location was changed to 1885 Hilltop Drive, in 1982, according to local directories and advertisements. Years later, Monroe’s Night Club was added to the Casino Club to bring an exciting night club atmosphere to the already popular gambling joint in 1995, and these businesses continue to thrive at the former location of the Showcase Theatre today. What are your memories here, what movies did you watch here?





Above: an advertisement from the Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, May 29, 1982.



Above: an advertisement from the Casino Club for a seven-card stud tournament. From the Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, June 4, 1993.




RESOURCES:

Hilltop Theater to Open - The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, January 9, 1968

Theater Meeting Towns Best Show - The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, January 9, 1968

Redding Woman to Manage New Theater - The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, January 19, 1968

Theater To Get Fire Safety Devices - The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, January 23, 1968

The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, January 26, 1968

1968 City of Redding Directory 

Theater Extends “Romeo & Juliet” - The Redding Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, March 13, 1969 

1969 City of Redding Directory

Area Offers Concerts - Theaters written by Mike Harris, The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, August 21, 1970

1970 City of Redding Directory

1971 City of Redding Directory

Cinema - The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, March 4, 1972

1972 City of Redding Directory

1973 City of Redding Directory

1974 City of Redding Directory

1975 City of Redding Directory

1976 City of Redding Directory

“Rocky” Comes to Redding - The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, April 22, 1977

1977 City of Redding Directory

The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, February 10, 1978

1978 City of Redding Directory

The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, August 29, 1980

1980 City of Redding Directory 

1981 City of Redding Directory

Silver Screens Go Dim for Viewers in Redding - The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, April 20, 1981

Review Board Clears Way For Theatre Project - The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, April 30, 1981

Walk-up spaghetti stand OK'd - The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, May 14, 1981

1982 City of Redding Directory

The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, May 29, 1982

The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, June 2, 1982

The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, June 7, 1982

The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, June 8, 1982


1992/1993 City of Redding Telephone Directory

1993/1994 City of Redding Telephone Directory

1994/1995 City of Redding Telephone Directory

1995/1996 City of Redding Telephone Directory 

1996/1997 City of Redding Telephone Directory

The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, December 20, 2023