Showing posts with label Anderson. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Anderson. Show all posts

Tuesday, April 14, 2026

A PIONEER LUMBER MERCHANT OF CALIFORNIA: JOSEPH EMMET TERRY (1863-1934) & THE TERRY LUMBER COMPANY.


Joseph Emmet Terry, (1863-1934).


Joseph Emmet Terry was a prominent California pioneer lumber merchant, magnate, and the founder of the Terry Lumber Company, which later evolved into the Shasta Land and Timber Company, and played a vital role in the development of the timber industry in Shasta County, California. Come learn about Terry's family, his dealings as well as his businesses. In this episode of Exploring Shasta County history, we also visit sites formerly owned by Joseph E. Terry in Round Mountain and in Bella Vista. Terry Mill Road in Round Mountain is named after his sawmill which formerly operated along the roadside there and it still bears his surname today. The pioneer is buried in the Terry family plot at the historic Old Sacramento City Cemetery in Sacramento, California. Click the link to learn more. Please like, share, comment, and if you haven't yet - SUBSCRIBE to my You Tube Channel.




Filmed on locations.







Resources:

1850 U.S. Census

1860 U.S. Census

1870 U.S. Census

1880 U.S. Census

The Daily Examiner newspaper of San Francisco, September 18, 1887

An Illustrated History of Sacramento County, California. By Hon. Win. J. Davis. Lewis Publishing Company 1890. Page 345-347.

Social and Personal - The Sacramento Daily Union newspaper of Sacramento, April 23, 1890

Social and Personal - The Sacramento Daily Union newspaper of Sacramento, May 3, 1890

A Prominent Citizen Gone - The Sacramento Daily Union newspaper of Sacramento, December 4, 1893

For Nearly a Million - The Sacramento Bee newspaper of Sacramento, December 26, 1893

A Heavy Bond - The Sacramento Daily Union newspaper of Sacramento, December 27, 1893

The Free Press newspaper of Redding, May 25, 1897

A Great Bargain - The Sacramento Union newspaper of Sacramento, May 30, 1897

A Big Deal - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, June 1, 1897

The Shasta Lumber Company – The Daily Free Press newspaper of Redding, June 1, 1897

Friend & Terry - The Daily Free Press newspaper of Redding, June 13, 1897

Friend & Terry - The Daily Free Press newspaper of Redding, June 15, 1897

For Shasta's Lumber - The Examiner newspaper of San Francisco, June 16, 1897

The Daily Free Press newspaper of Redding, June 16, 1897

Friend & Terry - The Free Press newspaper of Redding, June 19, 1897

The Daily Free Press newspaper of Redding, June 28, 1897

Wages Reduced - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, June 29, 1897

Preparing to Cut Lumber - The Daily Free Press newspaper of Redding, July 1, 1897

The Bella Vista Lumber Yard Sold - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, July 6, 1897

The Daily Free Press newspaper of Redding, July 22, 1897

At the Limber Camp - The Daily Free Press newspaper of Redding, July 23, 1897

Lumber Manufacturing - The Republican Free Press newspaper of Redding, August 14, 1897

Work in the Woods - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, October 5, 1897

The Daily Free Press newspaper of Redding, November 13, 1897

Death of Enright - The Daily Free Press newspaper of Redding, December 6, 1897

A Boom in Lumber - The Free Press newspaper of Redding, January 22, 1898

Mill Closed Down - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, January 26, 1898

The Free Press newspaper of Redding, March 19, 1898

The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, March 22, 1898

The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, June 28, 1898

The Terry Lumber Company - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, August 2, 1898

A Bad Accident - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, August 3, 1898

The Daily Free Press newspaper of Redding, September 22, 1898 (building new bunker at Round Mountain.)

The Terry Lumber Mill - The Daily Free Press newspaper of Redding, September 23, 1898

Railroad to the Roost - The Daily Free Press newspaper of Redding, January 28, 1899

That Railroad Rumor - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, January 31, 1899

Bridge the Sacramento - The Free Press newspaper of Redding, February 11, 1899

Mills Start Up Soon - The Daily Free Press newspaper of Redding, March 11, 1899

1900 U.S. Census

Disputed Street Way - The Daily Free Press newspaper of Redding, January 11, 1900

Old Terry Mill Is Now In Full Blast - The Free Press newspaper of Redding, May 2, 1901

Day and Night - The Free Press newspaper of Redding, June 21, 1901

Dr. Coffey Marries A Belle in Sacramento - The San Francisco Call newspaper of San Francisco, July 10, 1902

A Farm for Breeding Blue-Blooded Horses - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, June 13, 1903

The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, September 1, 1903

J.E. Terry's Dogs Capture Honors - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, January 17, 1904

Incendiaries Burn Terry's Lumber Yard - The Free Press newspaper of Redding, May 20, 1904

One of Terry's Mills Has Closed - The Free Press newspaper of Redding, November 4, 1904

Fell From Terry Lumber Flume and Badly Hurt - The Free Press newspaper of Redding, November 4, 1904

Redding Lumber to Bella Vista - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, April 6, 1905

Both Mills Will Run Night and Day - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, June 26, 1906

Went North to Buy Lumber - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, September 8, 1906

Terry's Mill Swept Away by a Raging Flood of Water - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, November 5, 1906

Terry Mill Will Start Up Monday - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, December 25, 1906

Lost in Woods and Perished -  The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, December 27, 1906

Day and a Quarter Shifts - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, February 19, 1907

The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, April 9, 1907

Terry’s Mill Started Up - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, April 9, 1907

Lumber Plants of Northern California - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, April 20, 1907

Lumber Season Ends at Round Mountain - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, December 10, 1907

1910 U.S. Census

Fire Wipes Out Shasta Plant - The Sacramento Union newspaper of Sacramento, June 16, 1910

Repair Timber Railroads - The Sacramento Daily Union newspaper of Sacramento, July 27, 1910

The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, January 5, 1911

Bank of Shasta Fails for $300,000 - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, March 26, 1911

Deposits Fell Off $382, 000 In A Year - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, March 27, 1911

Bank of Shasta County Closed Its Doors Saturday - The Shasta Courier newspaper of Shasta, March 28, 1911

Bank Situation Is Uncleared - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, March 30, 1911

Depositors of Bank Assemble and Complete Permanent Organization - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, April 7, 1911

Bank of Shasta County and First Savings Bank of Shasta in Liquidation - The Courier-Free Press of Redding, April 10, 1911

Bank Collapse Due to Huge Overdraft - The San Francisco Examiner newspaper of San Francisco, April 10, 1911

Terry Promises to Make Good to Bank - The Sacramento Star newspaper of Sacramento, April 10, 1911

Affairs of Bank of Shasta to be Wound Up by Banking Board - The Sacramento Bee newspaper of Sacramento, April 10, 1911

None of the Public's Business Says Terry - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, April 11, 1911

Shasta Bank's Wreck Worse Than Thought - The San Francisco Examiner newspaper of San Francisco, April 11, 1911

Terry Said to be Coming Through - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, April 13, 1911

Mitchell Thinks Facts Were Misrepresented - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, April 14, 1911

Depositors Committee Confers with Directors and Bank Stockholders - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, April 15, 1911

Bush Tells About Big Loans - The Sacramento Bee newspaper of Sacramento,

The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, April 18, 1911

$46,000 Will Go to Pay the Depositors - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, May 5, 1911

Bank of Shasta's Deals Explained - The San Francisco Examiner newspaper of San Francisco, May 6, 1911

J.E. Terry Takes the Financial Situation Very Much to Heart - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, May 17, 1911

The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, May 19, 1911

Bank Depositors Hold Big Meeting - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, May 20, 1911

Big Borrowers Threatened with Prosecution by the Shasta Bank Depositors - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, May 21, 1911

Terry to Pay $100,000 And Give Securities for Balance of Loan - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, May 30, 1911

Grand Jury Probing Terry $205,000 Loan - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, June 20, 1911

Terry Tried to Withdraw His $100,000 Offer - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, June 20, 1911

Reason for Trying to Withdraw Offer - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, July 10, 1911

Tells Why He Withdrew $100,000 Compromise - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, July 11, 1911

J.E. Terry - Wendling Conspiracy to Defraud Bank of Shasta County - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, July 16, 1911

Bank of Shasta Shortage is $110,386.75 - The Sacramento Bee newspaper of Sacramento, January 23, 1912

The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, March 1, 1912

R.R. Extension to Ingot - The Sacramento Daily Union newspaper of Sacramento, March 24, 1912

Impressions of the Day at Terry’s - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, July 16, 1912

The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, August 23, 1912

Anderson Enjoys Prosperity - The Sacramento Daily Union newspaper of Sacramento, December 20, 1912

Survey Party Goes Out on Terry Road - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, February 8, 1913

Reorganizing Terry Lumber Interests - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, May 7, 1913

Shasta Land and Timber Company Organized with Capital of One Million - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, May 9, 1913

Terry Organizes Big Lumber Company - The Sacrament Bee newspaper of Sacramento, May 9, 1913

Terry Interests Are Reorganized - The Sacramento Daily Union newspaper of Sacramento, May 9, 1913

The Shasta Courier newspaper of Shasta, June 27, 1913

Traction Engine Stripped of Cogs Backs Down Hill - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, September 6, 1913

Twenty Million Feet Cut During 1913 at Terry’s Mill - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, December 10, 1913

Shasta Land & Timber to Resume Work Right Away - The Searchlight newspaper of April 11, 1916

Terry Mills to Be Opened Soon - The Shasta Courier newspaper of Shasta, June 27, 1916

Terry Property Being Inspected - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, July 29, 1916

Bella Vista Mill Employs 300 Men - The Sacramento Union newspaper of Sacramento August 6, 1916

Starting Up at Terry's - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, March 27, 1917

Morse Originator of Famous Shasta Lumber Flume - The Chico Record newspaper of Chico, May 5, 1917

Notice of Commissioners Sale of Real Property - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, November 1, 1918

Terry Holdings Are to Be Sold November 23 - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, October 12, 1918

Terry Property is Sold for $180,000 - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, November 24, 1918

The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, July 17, 1919

Buying What's Left of Terry Property - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, September 27, 1919

1920 U.S. Census

Terry Timber Property Reported Sold to Red River Lumber Company - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, January 15, 1920

Terry Lands Are Sold to Walker Company – The Red Bluff Daily News newspaper of Red Bluff, January 17, 1920

Walkers Improving Lumber Property – The Sacramento Union newspaper of Sacramento, January 27, 1920

Red River Lumber Company Purchases Terry Land Mill - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, March 12, 1920

$23,080.12 Taxes Paid to Redeem Terry Property - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, March 26, 1920

Red River Lumber Company Will Employ 500 Men; Railroad Purchased - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, March 31, 1920

Huge Prices for Lumber Stirs Industry - The Shasta Courier newspaper of Shasta, May 21, 1920

Creditors Get Last Payments - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, September 24, 1920

The Sacramento Daily Union newspaper of Sacramento, March 20, 1921

The Sacramento Daily Union newspaper of Sacramento, March 1, 1922 (oil)

May Develop Terry Timber – The Sacramento Union newspaper of Sacramento, January 28, 1920

1930 U.S. Census

Pioneer Woman, 100, Honored; O' Shaughnessy Passes 70 Mark - The San Francisco Examiner newspaper of San Francisco, May 29, 1934

Joseph Terry Dies Suddenly - The Sacramento Daily Union newspaper of Sacramento, June 3, 1934

Funeral is Held in Capital for Joseph E. Terry - The Sacramento Daily Union newspaper of Sacramento, June 4, 1934

California, U.S., San Francisco Area Funeral Home Records, 1895-1985 for Joseph E Terry Book No: 27 - Page: 305

U.S., Family History Books for Joseph Emmet Terry



Mrs. Laura Terry, Pioneer of 1856, Succombs - The San Francisco Examiner newspaper of San Francisco, April 5, 1938

Terry - The San Francisco Examiner newspaper of San Francisco, April 6, 1938

Flumes, Steam Tractors Hauled Lumber in Early Days - The Shasta Courier newspaper of Shasta, July 17, 1947

The Red River Legend Lives - The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, January 22, 1981

Today In History - The Redding Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, November 28, 2000

Saturday, March 9, 2024

Elias Anderson (1817-1907), the Founder of Anderson, California.

 




How did the City of Anderson receive its name? Who was the person this burgeoning present-day city is named for? When was the City of Anderson incorporated? Find out more about Elias Anderson and the city which bores his surname in this newest installment of Exploring Shasta County History from local historian and author, Jeremy M. Tuggle. 




RESOURCES:

Elias Anderson in the California, U.S., Pioneer and Immigrant Files, 1790-1950; available on Ancestry.com

1830 U.S. Census

A HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY, MISSOURI.

U.S., Appointments of U.S. Postmasters, 1832-1971

1850 U.S. Census

School Districts of Shasta County 1853-1955 compiled by Veronica Satorius

1860 U.S. Census

Died - The Shasta Courier newspaper of Shasta, July 27, 1861

List Of Post Offices -The Shasta Courier newspaper of Shasta, December 19, 1863

Died - The Shasta Courier newspaper of Shasta, May 4, 1867

1867, Shasta County Voters Registration 

1870 U.S. Census

New Store! - The Shasta Courier newspaper of Shasta, March 1, 1873

The Shasta Courier newspaper July 19, 1873

Lots For Sale in the Town of Shasta Co., Cal. - The Sentinel Newspaper of Red Bluff, October 24, 1874

Died - The Reading Independent newspaper of Redding, August 14, 1979

1880 U.S. Census

History and Business Directory - Shasta County - 1881 by B.F. Frank and H.W. Chappell. Redding Independent Book and Job Printing House, Redding, California, ©1881.

1885, Shasta County Directory

Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps - Anderson, California, 1881-1947

A Big Fire at Anderson - The Chico Weekly Enterprise newspaper of Chico, January 28, 1887

Anderson In Ashes - The Marysville Daily Appeal newspaper of Marysville, January 30, 1887

The Fire at Anderson - The Chico Weekly Enterprise newspaper of Chico, February 4, 1887

The Republican Free Press newspaper of Redding, February 2, 1889

The Republican Free Press newspaper of Redding, July 6, 1889

1899, City & Business Directory of Shasta County

The Free Press newspaper of Redding, September 30, 1899

1900 U.S. Census

The Free Press newspaper of Redding, January 23, 1901

Death of a Pioneer Woman - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, November 4, 1903

Aged Lady Passes Away - The Free Press newspaper of Redding, November 6, 1903

Oldest Man in County Lives at Anderson - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, August 23, 1906

Founder Of Anderson Dies at Advanced Age - The Sacramento Daily Union newspaper of Sacramento,

Oldest Man in County is Dead - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, October 1,1907

Anderson To Incorporate - The Sacramento Daily Union newspaper of Sacramento, February 5, 1912 

Found Dead in Bed in a Home in Anderson - The Shasta Courier newspaper of Shasta, May 28, 1931

Our Storied Landmarks – Shasta County, California, written by May H. Southern, published by Balakshin Printing Company, ©1942.

My Playhouse Was a Concord Coach, an anthology of newspaper clippings and documents relating to those who made California history during the years 1822-1888, by Mae Hélène Bacon Boggs. Published by Howell-North Press ©1942

Shasta Historical Society Pioneer Plaque file: AP-023 - Anderson, Elias, available on file at the Shasta Historical Society

979.424 - Anderson. Shasta Historical Society, Vertical files. 

979.424 (324) Anderson (history) unknown author

Shasta Historical Society Pioneer Record: Elias Anderson, dated April 8, 1943

Shasta Historical Society Genealogical Records 7-59: Elias Anderson

Shasta Historical Society Genealogical Records 7-59: George H. Anderson

Shasta Historical Society Pioneer Record: George H. Anderson, dated: January 18, 1945

Shasta County, California A History by Rosena Giles, published by Biobooks, ©1949.

The Town of Anderson Grew from Teamsters Campground Site written by Rosena A. Giles - The Shasta Courier newspaper of Shasta, January 4, 1951

Way Back When - Myrtle McNamar, published by C.A.T. Publishing of Redding, California, 1952. 282 pages.

City of Anderson owes its name to early-day farmer written by Elizabeth Dellow - The Redding Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, August 30, 1963

In the Shadow of the Mountain a Short History of Shasta County, California, by Edward Petersen ©1965

Place Names of Shasta County by Gertrude A. Steger revision by Helen Hinckley Jones, ©1966 by La Siesta Pressy, Glendale, California

Elias's Town Has Grown by John Lawson - The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, September 18, 1969

The House That Elias Anderson Built - The Anderson Press newspaper of Anderson, March 24, 1976

Anderson house plan studied - The Redding Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, September 9, 1976

Anderson project will be backed - The Redding Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, November 9, 1976

Anderson gets plea to repair old house - The Redding Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, August 2, 1978

Anderson House Wins Reprieve - The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, February 6, 1980

Anderson House To Be Saved - The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, March 4, 1980

House: Time Running Out - The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, April 14, 1980

Old Anderson House Doomed - The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, April 15, 1980

Historic Anderson House Has to Go by Pat Lakey - The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, May 8, 1980

9579.424 (324) Anderson by Laura Gurwell, January 12, 1987


Thursday, August 10, 2023

The Bedford & Wright Family Feud of Anderson: And the Historic John F. Bedford Company Building at 2016 North Street.


 

Filmed on location.


A feud similar to Hatfield’s & McCoy’s of Kentucky and West Virginia? Not quite. A separate family feud? Yes, Shasta County’s own statewide famous feud is highlighted in this YouTube video from Exploring Shasta County History, learn about the Bedford & Wright family feud which statewide media coverage of the time period compared it to the nationally famous Hatfield’s and McCoy’s family feud which was the foundation for the television game show Family Feud. I also dive into the history of the building at 2016 North Street in Anderson, a historic building which was owned and operated by the Bedford family and was also part of a shooting during the feud here in Shasta County. Find out more on this episode of Exploring Shasta County History…  ©2021, 2022 & 2023





Resources:

1860 U.S. Census

John Franklin Bedford marriage to Ella V. Wright, June 2, 1857, Fulton, Georgia.

1866 California Voters Registration 

New Firm - The Shasta Courier newspaper of Shasta, February 16, 1867

Notice - The Shasta Courier newspaper of Shasta, February 16, 1867

1868 California Voters Registration 

1870 U.S. Census

Born - The Shasta Courier newspaper of Shasta, May 14, 1870

New Store at Anderson - The Shasta Courier newspaper of Shasta, January 4, 1873

New Store! - The Shasta Courier newspaper of Shasta, January 4, 1873

New Store! - The Shasta Courier newspaper of Shasta, March 15, 1873

In Brief - The Shasta Courier newspaper of Shasta, April 12, 1873

Sample - The Shasta Courier newspaper of Shasta, April 19, 1873

Bedford & Wright - The Shasta Courier newspaper of Shasta, August 30, 1873

Agricultural Implements - The Shasta Courier newspaper of Shasta, October 25, 1873

Born - The Shasta Courier newspaper of Shasta, December 18, 1873

Anderson - The Pacific Rural Press newspaper of San Francisco, May 10, 1879

Attempted Suicide - The Sacramento Daily Union newspaper of Sacramento, July 16, 1879

1880 U.S. Census

Anderson - The Pacific Rural Press newspaper of San Francisco, March 4, 1882

The Republican Free Press newspaper of Redding, November 3, 1883

Anderson “Echoes” - The Republican Free Press newspaper of Redding, December 12, 1885

Real Estate - The Republican Free Press newspaper of Anderson, June 23, 1888

Anderson - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, September 15, 1888

The Republican Free Press newspaper of Redding, February 8, 1890

The Free Press newspaper of Redding, July 23, 1892

Anderson Flour Mill Burned -The Chico Weekly Enterprise newspaper of Chico, March 15, 1895

Married At A Ripe Age - The Daily Free Press newspaper of Redding, April 3, 1899

Climax of the Quarrel - The Daily Free Press newspaper of Redding, October 10, 1899

It May Be Sensational - The Daily Free Press newspaper of Redding, October 20, 1899

Elusive Doctor Davison - The Daily Free Press newspaper of Redding, November 20, 1899

Says He Married Her For Her Money - The San Francisco Chronicle newspaper of San Francisco, December 21, 1899

1900 U.S. Census

Sent Back To Shasta County - The San Francisco Chronicle newspaper of San Francisco, February 1, 1900

Family Row Nearly Ends in Murder - The San Francisco Call newspaper of San Francisco, March 14, 1900

Much Bad Blood and Bird Shot - San Jose Herald newspaper of San Jose, March 14, 1900

Mrs. J.F. Bedford Is Seriously Sick - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, April 2, 1901

Mrs. Virginia Bedford Dead - The Chico Weekly Enterprise newspaper of Chico, April 5, 1901

Death Of Mrs. Mary Lawshe - The Free Press newspaper of Redding, May 9, 1904

From Neighboring Towns and Adjacent Counties - The Chico Record newspaper of Chico, May 11, 1904

Anderson Has Disastrous Blaze - Chico Record newspaper of Chico, August 8, 1905

Red Bluff - The Chico Record newspaper of Chico, September 30, 1905

Packing House to Be Built - The Sacramento Daily Union newspaper of Sacramento, June 21, 1906

A Fruit Packing House To Be Built - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, June 22, 1906

Good Season for Fruit - The Sacramento Daily Union newspaper of Sacramento, September 3, 1907

Pioneer Merchant Is Dead - The Sacramento Daily Union newspaper of Sacramento, November 29, 1910

Died - The Sacramento Daily Union newspaper of Sacramento, November 29, 1910

Pioneer Merchant Dies At the Age of Seventy-Six - The San Francisco Call newspaper of San Francisco, November 29, 1910

Want Will Probated - The Sacramento Daily Union newspaper of Sacramento, December 3, 1910

James F. Bedford Beaten And Stabbed By Jeremiah Wright - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, May 24, 1911

James Bedford Beaten And Stabbed In Street -The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, May 24, 1911

Shasta Man Stabs His Old Partner - The Sacramento Daily Union newspaper of Sacramento, May 24, 1911

Stabbed By a Former Partner - Colusa Daily Sun newspaper of Colusa, May 24, 1911

Bedford-Wright Feud Like Those of Kentucky Hills - The Sacramento Daily Union newspaper of Sacramento, May 25, 1911

Victim of Assault Is in No Danger - Colusa Daily Sun newspaper of Colusa, May 25, 1911

Shasta Merchant Stabbed on Street - The Chico Record newspaper of Chico, May 25, 1911

James F. Bedford Doing Splendidly - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, May 25, 1911

Many Prisoners In Shasta  - The Sacramento Daily Union newspaper of Sacramento, May 26, 1911

Old Feud Ends with Assault - The Marysville Daily Appeal newspaper of Marysville, May 26, 1911

Was Attacked by Uncle - The Napa Weekly Journal newspaper of Napa, May 26, 1911

To Take Bedford To The Lane Hospital - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, May 29, 1911

Bedford Will Not Prosecute Wright - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, June 11, 1911

Bitter Feud Ends in Shasta County - The Sacramento Daily Union newspaper of Sacramento, June 11, 1911

Cracksmen Fail to Secure Loot - The Sacramento Daily Union newspaper of Sacramento, December 23, 1911

Will Subdivide Tract - The Sacramento Daily Union newspaper of Sacramento, January 1, 1913

Jeremiah Pearson Wright, Pioneer of Anderson, Dies At Oakland, Aged 71 Years. - The Anderson Valley News newspaper of Anderson, May 25, 1916

Card Of Thanks - The Anderson Valley News newspaper of Anderson, May 25, 1916

James F. Bedford Sues F.B. Collum $725 On Promisary Note - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, January 18, 1927

James F. Bedford, Pioneer Merchant, Passes At Home - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, January 21, 1936

J.F. Bedford's Largest In Town History - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, January 22, 1936

Bedford Estate Is Bequeathed To Wife and Mrs. Donnelly - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, January 30, 1936

Dunlap Buys Bedford Store - The Redding Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, February 1, 1944

Dunlaps Store In Anderson Is Remodeled - The Redding Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, October 7, 1944

The Town Of Anderson Grew From Teamsters Campground Site written by Rosena A. Giles - The Shasta Courier newspaper of Shasta, January 4, 1951



James Franklin Bedford (1859-1936) Find A Grave Memorial  (Note: an error on this Find A Grave claims that James Franklin Bedford died in 1935. That is incorrect.









Thursday, April 13, 2023

The Historic Wells Ferry Crossing Along the Sacramento River Near Anderson on Noble's Emigrant Trail: and the Sacramento River House


Filmed on location March 17, 2023


On this episode of Exploring Shasta County history, Jeremy takes you on a private tour of the historic Sacramento River House property at the present-day site of the Sacramento River Bridge 1 1/2 mile north of Anderson at the historic Wells Ferry crossing with its property owner, Scott Swendiman. The Sacramento River House was built circa (1875-1880) along the historic Noble's Emigrant Trail at that location, originally it was a ferry house belonging to the historic Wells Ferry, and it still stands today. Tuggle & Swendiman gives you an exclusive look into Swendiman's property here. Check out the remains of the ferry on the property which dates to 1852. In 1886 the Wells Ferry was replaced by the Anderson Free Bridge and there are remains of that bridge on this property as well. This is an episode you don't want to miss. Please subscribe to my YouTube channel if you haven't already. This is now a historic vacation rental, wedding and event venue which is available to rent online at the following website's:




Resources

Notice - The Shasta Courier newspaper of Shasta, July 22, 1854

Notice - The Shasta Courier newspaper of Shasta, November 11, 1854

District Court, November Term, 1854 - The Shasta Courier newspaper of Shasta, December 16, 1854

Notice - The Shasta Courier newspaper of Shasta, January 12, 1856

Valuable Ferry Property For Sale - The Shasta Courier newspaper of Shasta, July 2, 1870

Purchased - The Shasta Courier newspaper of Shasta, October 1, 1870

Supervisor Proceedings - The Shasta Courier newspaper of Shasta, November 19, 1870

Whirlwind - The Shasta Courier newspaper of Shasta, May 11, 1872

The Republican Free Press newspaper of Redding, July 11, 1885

The Republican Free Press newspaper of Redding, February 27, 1886

The Bridge Matter - The Republican Free Press newspaper of Redding, March 6, 1886

That Bridge - The Republican Free Press newspaper of Redding, March 13, 1886

The Republican Free Press newspaper of Redding, April 10, 1886

The Republican Free Press newspaper of Redding, May 29, 1886

Board of Supervisors - The Republican Free Press newspaper of Redding, July 10, 1886

The Republican Free Press newspaper of Redding, July 17, 1886

The Republican Free Press newspaper of Redding, August 14, 1886 (vilas mill Shingletown contract 50,000 feet of lumber for new bridge)

Talkin' About Ferry Boats and Changes written by Rosena A. Giles - The Shasta Courier newspaper of Shasta, February 1, 1951

Shasta County Had Many Ferries written by Judge Albert F. Ross Jr., - The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, December 28, 1963

Shasta County, California, U.S., Marriages, 1852-1904

First Ferry Crossing written by Christy Milan Duke for Enjoy Magazine February 2019.

Sacramento River House


Tuesday, February 23, 2021

California & Oregon Railroad Historic Water Tower Foundation of 1872

On June 15, 1872, the town of Redding was established by the California & Oregon Railroad, a division of the Central Pacific Railroad, which stopped the construction of its tracks later that year at Poverty Flats. Poverty Flats lacked settlement by the early European-American’s because it was mainly swampland and farmers couldn’t raise their crops there which is the main reason it was ignored by them. Due to the railroad it forced Redding's settlement upon Poverty Flats. Redding gained prominence and grew rapidly as the town burgeoned with success.

A water tower was built by the California and Oregon Railroad in 1872. It was a very significant structure in Redding. Then on, September 1, 1872, the first passenger train arrived in Redding via Red Bluff, Cottonwood, and Anderson., and later other trains followed suit often refilling their engines with water from this tower. It is located at the Southwest corner of the tracks at the South Street crossing. It's unknown to me when the railroad dismantled it. Everyone has probably driven past it, stopped at it, or walked by it without realizing the historical importance of this foundation. 



Above: The California & Oregon Railroad Historic Water Tower Foundation of 1872. This photograph was taken on June 12, 2020, by Jeremy Tuggle.


Wednesday, November 18, 2020

The John James Stevenson family, circa 1889-1890, at Anderson, Shasta County, California.


The John James Stevenson pioneer family poses for a photograph, circa 1889/1890, at Anderson, Shasta County, California. From the collection of Jeremy Tuggle.


I just uploaded this throwback portrait yesterday to my Ancestry.com account. This is the John James Stevenson pioneer family circa, 1889/1890, at Anderson, Shasta County, California. I have one set of great-great-great-great grandparents in this photo, and one set of great-great-great grandparents in this photo as well as my great-great-grandfather in this photo. This is on my maternal side of the family. The following people are identified: 

Back row L-R: Mary (Roberts) Stevenson, Rachael (Burkhead) Stevenson, Jane (Moore) Stevenson, Mary (Fitch) Stevenson, unidentified, Nina (Decker) Stevenson, and Laura (Cross) Stevenson. 

Middle Row L-R: Jay Weyland Stevenson, Wilsa Elmer Stevenson, John James Stevenson, William Scott Stevenson (holding baby, Winnie (Stevenson) Asbell), Willard Eugene Stevenson, and Vint Wayne Stevenson. 

Front Row L-R: Verda (Stevenson) Taylor, Joseph W. Stevenson, Jack A. Stevenson, Charles A. Stevenson, John Prosper Stevenson, and Lena (Stevenson) Waldorf in dress, and the family dog. Only one person is unidentified. A copy of the original Stevenson family portrait, very faded in parts. 




Thursday, October 24, 2019

BELLA VISTA: A LUMBER TOWN

The original carpenters behind the famous Shasta Lumber Company's flume (also known as the Terry lumber flume) were Orison D. Morse and his siblings who completed the first five miles of lumber flume in 1886 before Morse sold the lumber flume to C.H. Holbrook and F.M. Phelps. Later, these gentlemen sold out to Joseph Enright in 1887, a native of Ireland, and the energetic owner of the newly established Shasta Lumber Company. Holbrook and Phelps remained with the new company while being employed by Enright. Enright filed articles of incorporation in the Santa Clara County's clerk's office since his company's principal place of business was located in San Jose, California, and their location of property, works and mills were situated in Shasta County, California. This company immediately erected a sawmill at Hatchet Mountain, and then they extended the lumber flume’s course of construction from where Holbrook and Phelps stopped and brought it down the canyon.



Shasta Lumber Company - The Republican Free Press newspaper of 
Redding, March 26, 1887.

Then in, December of 1887, the Republican Free Press newspaper of Redding reported the following account:

Shut Down - Nick Stewart, who has been blacksmithing for the Shasta Lumber Company, informs us that about forty men were discharged last week, and the mill and logging camp had been shut down for the winter. About twenty men are still employed on the flume, which has reached Scroggins’ place near the junction of Cow and Cedar Creeks. Snow at the mill is two feet deep, while twelve miles this side the grass is growing. There is enough lumber on hand to build fourteen miles of flume.” (SIC)

Construction of this lumber flume continued after winter. By June 30, 1888, the Republican Free Press newspaper of Redding stated the following in an excerpt of an article about the Shasta Lumber Company’s lumber flume:

“…it is now an undisputed fact that this gigantic enterprise is rapidly nearing completion and in a few months the products of our vast lumber region in the northern and eastern parts of the county will be put on the market.” (SIC)

This lumber flume was completed by the Shasta Lumber Company in August of 1888 when it reached the vicinity of present-day Bella Vista, they ended the course of construction at the end of what is now Meyer Road (just off Deschutes Road.) The lumber flume was a V-shape structure which was elevated to 90’ in height and supported by scaffolds. Enright purchased the Gipson ranch at that location in order to have a stopping point for his company’s lumber flume. This area was the end-of-the-line for the lumber flume and Bella Vista was originally called, the dump, because it was the dumping point of their lumber coming off the lumber flume. The original town site was established with a general merchandise store owned by the Shasta Lumber Company, company offices, a planning mill and additional buildings.

The distance of this lumber flume was 32-miles long from its start at Hatchet Mountain to its dumping point. From the dump, the Shasta Lumber Company wanted to continue construction of the lumber flume towards Anderson, but the valley terrain was too level to allow the lumber flume to operate and they had to think of additional methods to transport their lumber from the dump to the Southern Pacific’s station in Anderson for their product to be shipped to the market.


Above: the Shasta lumber flume (also known as the Terry lumber flume). Courtesy of Shasta Historical Society.

Then in 1889, E.W. “Pike” Roney constructed a grounded telephone circuit for the Shasta Lumber Company at Bella Vista which was installed between that town and their yard in Redding. This was a line used by company officials only. The installation process that Roney used to create this telephonic line was: “black iron balling wire, salamoniac batteries and Bell company instruments secured from the Bell Telephone Company. Another instrument was connected to this line and located in the apartment of Vuave, assistant superintendent for Enright”. (SIC) This was the first telephone line in operation at Bella Vista.


This advertisement is from the Republican Free Press newspaper of Redding, January 5, 1889.

Now for some myth busting of my own, over the years a number of researchers and local historians have stated that the Anderson-Bella Vista Railroad was established in 1889, but that is false primarily because Bella Vista was still called the “dump” at that time, and this railroad was not constructed yet. This brings us to the following column printed by a local media outlet on, December 13, 1890:

The Anderson Enterprise accredits Mr. Joseph Enright as saying that as soon as the roads become impassable for hauling lumber the teams will be set at work on the railroad grade from the dump to Anderson; that next spring or early in the summer he expects to unload lumber by rail in Anderson.” (SIC)





Above: the Terry Lumber Company store and mill, between the years 1910 to 1913 in Bella Vista. This photograph was taken by Titler. Courtesy of Shasta Historical Society.




Above: the Terry Lumber Company store and office. Additional buildings on the property as well, between the years 1910 to 1913 in Bella Vista. This photograph was taken by Titler. Courtesy of Shasta Historical Society.


In addition to the above incorrect information this railroad was referred to as the Shasta Lumber Company’s railroad and not the Anderson-Bella Vista Railroad, early on. Another newspaper article from the San Francisco Call on February 25, 1891, refers to the railroad by that name and states the following information:

Building Its Own Railroad

Anderson, Feb. 24 – The grading for the branch railroad of the Shasta Lumber Company of this place to the end of the flume is commenced and will be completed to the Sacramento River by the 15th of April. The line is sixteen miles in length and is standard gauge, fifty-six-pound iron rails. The Shasta Lumber Company is a rich corporation owning 30,000 acres of the finest sugar pine in the State. This road undoubtedly will be extended to the valleys north.” (SIC)

During March of 1891, a meeting was held at Bedford’s hall in Anderson for the purpose of gathering businessmen to secure funds for the completion of the Shasta Lumber Company’s railroad to Anderson. Two of the final phases of construction of this railroad was to install the rails and to build a bridge over the Sacramento River for the train to continue its course into Anderson. The bridge was estimated at a construction cost of five or six thousand dollars. At that time, Joseph Enright managed to negotiate a contract with the Southern Pacific Company to “furnish him with sixteen miles of rails as soon as the grade is completed.

By April of 1893, the construction on the Shasta Lumber Company’s railroad wasn’t completed yet. Flooding from the recent rains had caused the delay. However, the Shasta Lumber Company had been transporting 60,000 feet of lumber daily from the dump to Anderson. Eventually, the Shasta Lumber Company’s railroad was completed that year. The first mention that I found of their engine in operation comes from the following article printed by the Republican Free Press newspaper on November 18, 1893:

Engine Overboard

Yesterday morning, about 8 o’ clock the Shasta Lumber Company’s engine, attached to a car loaded with lumber while going to Anderson from the dump , and upon being transferred to the ferry boat on the Sacramento River, shot off the boat into deep water, the car following half way, the rear end remaining on the boat. It is thought that it will take about three days to secure the car and lumber and place engine on terrafirma.” (SIC)

The Shasta Lumber Company didn’t retrieve their engine until the following month when the Shasta Courier newspaper printed the following account on December 18, 1893:

The Shasta Lumber Company’s engine has been “snaked” out of the river, where it has been in soak for two or three weeks.

It wasn’t a glorious start to the Shasta Lumber Company’s engine on their newly completed railroad. The route of the Shasta Lumber Company’s railroad started from the planning mill at the dump, and along present-day Deschutes Road to the Southern Pacific Company’s station at Anderson. Joseph Enright had this railroad built because it was quicker way to transport their lumber to the market and it helped the company reach Anderson over the flat terrain where the lumber flume would have failed.


Above: is the Terry Lumber Company planning mill at Bella Vista, between the years 1910 to 1913. If you look at this photograph closely to the left hand corner of the photograph where it says "Titler photograph" you will see the standard gauge railroad tracks of the Anderson-Bella Vista Railroad. This photograph was taken by Titler. Courtesy of Shasta Historical Society.


As I stated before, the original location of Bella Vista was at the dump at the end of present-day Meyer Road on the former Gipson ranch. The man who named the town of Bella Vista was Robert Hamilton and he was employed by the Shasta Lumber Company. After Hamilton purchased property nearby, he erected a house on a knoll north west of Cow Creek. Due to the beautiful views from this location Hamilton named it Bella Vista which is the Spanish translation for the English meaning of “beautiful view”. Bella Vista was never referred to as the dump again. 

Additional employees also settled near the Hamilton residence. A pair of so-called subdivisions were also established by lumber company employees on the west bank of north Cow Creek which they referred to as Upper Stringtown and Lower Stringtown. Bella Vista became a booming lumber community.  




Above: dumping lumber at Bella Vista. A man pulling a log out of the lumber flume. This photograph was taken by Titler, between the years 1910 to 1913. Courtesy of Shasta Historical Society.



Above: the Bella Vista lumber yard. This photograph was taken by Titler, between the years 1910 to 1913. This location is at the end of Meyer Road in present day Bella Vista. Courtesy of Shasta Historical Society.




Above: the lumber yard at Bella Vista, California. Date unknown. This location is at the end of Meyer Road in present day Bella Vista. Courtesy of Shasta Historical Society.

Then on, May 18, 1893, a post office was established by the United States Postal Service headquarters in Washington D.C., called Bella Vista which appointed Robert Hamilton as the first postmaster, and the community was now a thriving little town of 200 residents. Most of the settlers were employed by the Shasta Lumber Company, however, early pioneer settlers did live along Cow Creek who were mostly farmers in the area. Among these early pioneer settlers were Frederick V. Meyer Sr., a native of Bremen, Germany, and the author’s maternal great-great-great-great grandfather, who arrived and settled there in 1851. The original Meyer ranch remains in the family today, and in 1953 was inducted into the State of California's 100 Year Club for being in business for more than 100 years. Meyer Sr., raised a large family of fourteen children with his wife Caroline (Notten) Meyer. Yank Creek runs through the Meyer property. Yank Creek was named after Joseph Yank who lived on its channel. Another early settler named Christian A. Lemm also raised a large family of his own. Additional people quickly moved into the area acquiring farmland.



Above: the Frederick V. Meyer Sr., family poses for a photograph in front of their two-story farmhouse on Cow Creek near Bella Vista. Meyer Sr., originally owned 160 acres of land and he accumulated additional property later on. From the collection of Jeremy Tuggle.



Above: the Lemm farmhouse, located on Salt Creek beside Highway 299. It was remodeled in 1917. Fire destroyed this Victorian farmhouse in the early 1970s.


Due to the early residents in this territory the oldest schoolhouse in the area was established on August 3, 1875 which was called the Eureka Schoolhouse. It was located near the present-day town of Bella Vista on what is now Blue Sky Road (formerly Aloha Road) on Salt Creek at on Highway 299E. It was a one-room schoolhouse. Several of my relatives on my maternal side were educated here. In addition to that, my maternal great-great-great-great aunt, Olive (Meyer) Chatham taught during the 1911 and 1912 school years as a teacher and so did Franklin R. Love a great-great-great-great uncle of mine by marriage who married Olive’s sister Mary (Meyer) Love. Love taught here in 1887, 1891 and 1897.

A secondary school was established on August 7, 1884, and it was originally called the North Branch schoolhouse. Then on, July 20, 1896 the school was renamed as the Bella Vista Schoolhouse. Like the Eureka Schoolhouse it continued to serve the area through educational purposes.



Above: the Eureka Schoolhouse is pictured here with Olive (Meyer) Chatham standing beside it. Year: 1974. It was demolished in 1980. Courtesy of Shasta Historical Society.




Above: Bella Vista students pose for a class photograph standing against a wall of the Bella Vista Schoolhouse. Year: 1910. Courtesy of Shasta Historical Society.


According to local historian Myrtle McNamar she states that Cow Creek was “first called Arroyo de los Eresnos (Rivulet of the Clover)”.  It became Cow Creek in 1845 when Captain John Fremont ventured through the area it was renamed by him after some cattle Fremont saw in the area and the name stuck to this creek. Bella Vista was devastated by fire that ravaged the Shasta Lumber Company property in August of 1895. According to the San Francisco Call newspaper it heralded the following account:

Bella Vista Blaze
The Shasta Lumber Company’s Boiler House Destroyed.

Anderson, Cal., - August 10, - A fire broke out Thursday night in the boiler house of the Shasta Lumber Company’s factory at Bella Vista, destroying the building and badly damaging its contents. The other factory buildings were saved by the hard work of the employees. The fire causes a serious impediment to operations of the different departments as they depend almost entirely upon steam for their motive power, the waterpower being sufficient to operate only one or two machines at a time. The company has large orders for material especially for fruit-packing purposes, and the filling of these will be delayed until the damage can be repaired.” (SIC)

Enright and his employees repaired the damages caused by the fire and they continued their shipment of orders. Joseph Enright sold out to Joseph E. Terry in 1897, Terry got quite a bargain for this Shasta County plant and all the Shasta Lumber Company holdings including the railroad when Terry purchased it for less than $100,000. At the time of the sale the Shasta Lumber Company owned about 28,000 acres of land in Shasta County and most of it was timber land. It was Joseph E. Terry who established the Terry Lumber Company, at that time.

On June 15, 1910 another ravaging blaze wiped out the Terry Lumber Mill at Bella Vista which resulted in $75, 000.00 worth of damages to the Terry Lumber Company. In the fire the company lost the box factory, planning mill, two warehouses and large quantities of lumber in the lumber yard. The fire was partially covered by insurance. It’s owner Joseph E. Terry, said that “we will rebuild as soon as our new equipment arrives.



Above: Anna M. Taylor poses for a photograph with two of her children at their home in Bella Vista. A young male child is standing on the left side of Anna and in the house looking out is a young female child. A chair can be seen inside their home. Circa 1917. Courtesy of Shasta Historical Society.


Three years later, the articles of incorporation for the California, Shasta and Eastern Railway were filed with the Shasta County clerk's office on May 1, 1913, this brand-new incorporation would reclaim the former Anderson-Bella Vista Railroad, also known as the Shasta Lumber Company Railroad and put it into good use for shipping their products. The first board of directors were comprised of S.E. Bretherton, of Berkeley, Felix T. Smith, of San Francisco, W.T. Barnett, of Berkeley, Paul A. McCarthy, of San Francisco, F.D. Madison, of San Rafael, Platt Kent, of San Francisco, and V.W. Vincent, of San Francisco. The articles state that "$32,000 worth of stock has been subscribed, S.E. Bretherton, taking $31,400, and each of the directors $100.

In 1916, Terry employed three hundred men who worked on site at the Terry Lumber Company at Bella Vista.  Terry directed his foremen to run two shifts over a twenty-four-hour period both day and night. Then in August of that year the Terry Lumber Company began sawing 175,000 feet of lumber per day. Most of the lumber was transported by railroad to the Southern Pacific station at Anderson to be sent out to the market.



Above: the employees of the Terry Lumber Company are getting ready to ship lumber to the market from Bella Vista. Date unknown. Courtesy of Shasta Historical Society.

Four years later, the Terry Lumber Company was sold to the Red River Lumber Company of Westwood, Lassen County, California, who purchased the holdings of the Terry Lumber Company in January of 1920. By January 17, 1920, it was confirmed by the Red Bluff Daily News in a letter written by Willis J. Walker, vice president of the Red River Lumber Company that, to the local media outlet:

In regard to the Terry property I would say that we have purchased this property of all kinds and expect to begin improving the ranch at Bella Vista right away. We have made no definite plans as to what will be done with the remainder of the property beyond taking care of miscellaneous property and will probably repair the flume so as to use on the ranch. Our plans beyond that are not at all definite.” (SIC)

According to Ethel (Saxon) Ward whose article “Pioneering in Lumber Transportation” was published by the Shasta Historical Society in the 1964 Covered Wagon writes the following:

The Red River Lumber Company succeeded the Terry Company in ownership of their timber lands and flume. Harvey Klingler, the old-time flume boss, was recalled repairing the flume. The mill operated from 1920 to 1922. Evidently the operation was not profitable as mill and flume were abandoned in 1922.” (SIC)

During its prime the town of Bella Vista had a thriving population of 2,000 people. Over the years, Bella Vista’s community consisted of saloons, barber shops and various stores, including gas stations. Later, Deschutes Road was cut and graded in 1945, and this road replaced the California, Shasta and Eastern Railway, also known as the Anderson-Bella Vista Railroad when it was abandoned, that year. Meyer Road was named after Donald Meyer and his wife Thelma (Stone) Meyer. Donald Meyer is a grandchild of pioneer Frederick V. Meyer Sr., and together they purchased the land in 1949, to establish their Meyer Ranch at that location where Bella Vista was established.

During the year 1977, Ed Carmichael donated a half-acre lot located about a mile east of Deschutes Road on Highway 299 E near Dry Creek Road for the Bella Vista Volunteer Fire Company. At that time, they lacked a fire station. Soon, they would have their new fire station erected which was used as their new headquarters under Fire Chief, Orval Pressley. Previously, they gathered at the Bella Vista Elementary School where training exercises were held as well. At that time the fire department had 22 members ready to serve the community when the alarm rang out.

In 2010, the U.S. Census documented that the population for Bella Vista reached 2,781. The Bella Vista Elementary School in the Bella Vista School District continues the education of local children from grades Kindergarten through 5th grade, and life in the town continues to thrive daily. The only items remaining of (Old) Bella Vista are concrete blocks and one single railroad tie located on private property at the end of Meyer Road.



Above: a county map before the establishment of Bella Vista showing the junction of Dry Creek and north Cow Creek, also the Gipson ranch, the Frederick V. Meyer Sr., ranch (misspelled as Myers) the surname was never corrected on this map, the Joseph Yank ranch and others along north Cow Creek appear on this map as well. This is the 1884 Map of Shasta County.



POSTMASTERS OF BELLA VISTA:

Robert Hamilton - 5-18-1893

Robert S. Roycroft - 11-12-1896

Francis Ray Drennon - 6-29-1916

Joseph E. Terry - 10-27-1916

Note: The Bella Vista Post Office was discontinued on June 30, 1918, under Terry, and the Mail was rerouted through Palo Cedro. The Bella Vista Post Office was reinstated on August 12, 1920, under Welder.

Albert L. Welder - 8-12-1920

Mary Luella Lofton - 7-19-1922

Edna D. Nasland - 6-8-1937

Vera F. Mallard (Acting Postmaster) - 3-23-1939

Charlotte L. Hamlin - 8-1-1939

Florence Violet Wilson - 7-15-1945

Gertrude Sims - 10-15-1944

Virginia L. McGrew - 7-17-1971

Marian R. Rutherford - 4-27-1985

Kathleen Munhollon - 7-2-2011

Walter C. Evans III - 11-26-2016



Above: the 1904 Edward Denny & Company's Map of Shasta County showing the town of Bella Vista. The Frederick V. Meyer Sr., ranch is noted on here and the surname is spelled correctly. However, in 1904 it was the Terry Lumber Company that owned the lumber flume which is shown here as being owned by the Shasta Lumber Company. Other ranches appear on the map as well.



RESOURCES:

The Shasta Lumber Company - The Republican Free Press newspaper of Redding, March 26, 1887

The Shasta Lumber Company - The Republican Free Press newspaper of Redding, April 9, 1887

The Republican Free Press newspaper of Redding, July 16, 1887

Assessment Notice - The Republican Free Press newspaper of Redding, September 3, 1887

The Republican Free Press newspaper of Redding, October 15, 1887

The Republican Free Press newspaper of Redding, November 19, 1887

Shut Down - The Republican Free Press newspaper of Redding, December 17, 1887

Holbrook & Phelps - The Republican Free newspaper of Redding, December 17, 1887

The Republican Free Press newspaper of Redding, March 3, 1888

The Republican Free Press newspaper of Redding, March 31, 1888

The Republican Free Press newspaper of Redding, May 5, 1888

The Republican Free Press newspaper of Redding, May 19, 1888

That Lumber Flume – The Republican Free Press newspaper of Redding June 2, 1888

From Round Mountain - The Republican Free Press newspaper of Redding, June 9, 1888

The Shasta Lumber Co’s Flume – The Free Press newspaper of Redding, June 30, 1888

The Republican Free Press newspaper of Redding, August 4, 1888

The Republican Free Press newspaper of Redding, August 11, 1888

The Free Press newspaper of Redding, October 6, 1888

California Voters Registration, 1890

The Republican Free Press newspaper of Redding, December 13, 1890

Building Its Own Railroad – The San Francisco Call newspaper of San Francisco, February 25, 1891

Railroad Grading Commenced – The Sacramento Daily Union newspaper of Sacramento, February 25, 1891

Important Meeting – The Republican Free Press newspaper of Redding, March 7, 1891

Joseph Enright and R.G. Hamilton - The Republican Free Press newspaper of Redding, April 29, 1893

Engine Overboard – The Republican Free Press newspaper of Redding, November 18, 1893

A Mammoth Lumber Enterprise – The Republican Free Press newspaper of Redding, December 9, 1893

The Shasta Courier newspaper of Shasta, December 10, 1893

Great Register of Shasta County, California 1894

Bella Vista Blaze - The San Francisco Call newspaper of San Francisco, August 11, 1895

A Great Bargain - The Sacramento Union newspaper of Sacramento, May 30, 1897

The Shasta Lumber Company – The Daily Free Press newspaper of Redding, June 1, 1897

Fire Wipes Out Shasta Plant - The Sacramento Union newspaper of Sacramento, June 16, 1910

Bella Vista Mill Employs 300 Men - The Sacramento Union newspaper of Sacramento August 6, 1916

Morse Originator of Famous Shasta Lumber Flume - The Chico Record newspaper of Chico, May 5, 1917

Terry Lands Are Sold to Walker Company – The Red Bluff Daily News newspaper of Red Bluff, January 17, 1920

Walkers Improving Lumber Property – The Sacramento Union newspaper of Sacramento, January 27, 1920

May Develop Terry Timber – The Sacramento Union newspaper of Sacramento, January 28, 1920

New Building Marks 47 Years of Telephone Progress Here - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, January 11, 1927

School Districts of Shasta County, 1853-1955

History of Telephones in Shasta County by Peggy Kesterson. On file at the Shasta Historical Society in VF 621.0 Utilities, 1973-1974.

In the Shadow of The Mountain by Edward Peterson

Pioneering in Lumber Transportation written by Ethel (Saxon) Ward, The Covered Wagon 1964, pages 32-36, published by Shasta Historical Society.

The Meyer Family written by Edna (Chatham) Wallace and Suzanne Kershaw, The Covered Wagon 1974, published by Shasta Historical Society.

The Lemms of Bella Vista Ten Sons by Ruth (Lemm) Martin and Jane (Lemm) Long, The Covered Wagon 1979, pages 61-69, published by Shasta Historical Society.

Fire Company Finds Land In BV - The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, June 16, 1977

VF 979.424 Bella Vista on file at Shasta Historical Society