Showing posts with label W.B. Tucker. Show all posts
Showing posts with label W.B. Tucker. Show all posts

Friday, December 30, 2022

THE FORMER SITE OF THE REDDING GOLF CLUB, NOW LAWNCREST CEMETERY.


The 9-hole golf course of the Redding Golf is shown here with golfers enjoying this golf course. Now, it’s home of the Lawncrest Cemetery. Courtesy of Shasta Historical Society.


Originally, the golf course pictured in the above photograph was designed and developed by W.B. Tucker and L. Hawkins, of Redding, in 1923. It was a 9-hole golf course which was owned and operated by the Redding Golf Club. It was located on the east side of the Sacramento River and laid out on Lawncrest Road in Enterprise. The golf course stayed in business for many years. Then in 1950, a man named George Stetler, founded a new funeral parlor in downtown Redding, which he named Linn and Fulkerth Funeral Home, and the land which this former golf course was situated on transitioned into a cemetery under his ownership, and it became the Lawncrest Cemetery. Its namesake was the road it was located on. Eventually, this road was widened and later renamed Cypress Avenue. This cemetery is still in use today, and generations of my family on both my maternal and paternal side are buried here including my eldest son, Jason Meyer Tuggle (born & died on: July 16, 2009.) 


RESOURCES:

Golf Fans Are Thick On New Course Sunday - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, February 26, 1923

Golf Enthusiasts Organize At Meet Wednesday Night - The Courier-Free Press, March 8, 1923

Invite Redding Golfers To Red Bluff Sunday - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, April 28, 1923

Redding Golf Fans To Play At Red Bluff - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, May 11, 1923

Redding Golf Club Goes To Corning Sunday - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, May 31, 1923

Redding Golfers Divide Matches - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, June 5, 1923

Golfers Will Put On Drive For Members; Seek Grounds - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, September 21, 1923

Golf Schedule Is Announced - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, October 12, 1923

Golfers Like Fine Weather - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, October 27, 1923

Local Golfers Victorious At Chico Sunday - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, October 29, 1923

Local Golfers Beat Arbuckle Players Here - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, November 12, 1923

Golf Tournament Is Postponed - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, January 5, 1924

Local Golfers Plan Ladder Tournament - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, January 11, 1924

Cummins Tops Golf Ladder - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, January 17, 1924

Golfers Change Position On Ladder - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, January 19, 1924

Golfers Draw Big Gallery - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, January 21, 1924

Cummins Gives Few Rules To Be Observed On Golf Course - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, January 23, 1924

33 Match Games Of Golf Over Weekend - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, January 25, 1924

Klukkert New Top Player On Ladder - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, February 18, 1924

Redding Plays Biggest Golf Match Sunday - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, February 22, 1924

Cummins Now Tops Golfers - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, February 23, 1924

Redding Golfers Defeated - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, February 25, 1924

This Golf Match Ought To Create Healthy Interest - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, February 26, 1924

Golfers Will Work On New Course Sunday - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, March 15, 1924

Cummins New Golf Leader - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, March 24, 1924

Golfers Play For Big Store Trophy Sunday Afternoon - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, April 12, 1924

Ritchie Wins Big Store Golf Trophy Sunday - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, April 1924

New Course To Be Built Soon By Golf Club - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, July 15, 1924

Red Bluff Golf Players Here On Sunday - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, October 10, 1924

New Directors For Golf And Country Club - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, December 19, 1925

Red Bluff Golf Players Coming Here Tomorrow - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, November 28, 1925


https://riverviewgolf.clubepay.com/history

https://www.dignitymemorial.com/funeral-homes/redding-ca/lawncrest-chapel/2483










Tuesday, June 19, 2018

The El Dorado mine on Mill Creek

   

The entrance to the El Dorado mine along Mill Creek. This photograph was taken by Jeremy Tuggle on April 15, 2015.


The El Dorado mine is located along Mill Creek in the Tower House Historic District, which is included in the boundaries of the French Gulch Mining District. A prospector by the name of William Paul, a native of England, located this mine in 1885. That year, Paul dug a 500 foot shaft on his property and he began toiling away in it in hopes of striking valuable ore. Since it was located the mine yielded lucrative results during its production of ore.
   
According to W.B. Tucker, a mining engineer, the El Dorado mine was actively producing between the years 1912 and 1919, the ore was free milling. During the interim, in November of 1915, this mine was yielding $40 per day, while a man by the surname of Connor owned and operated it. He was busy improving the mining property with new developments. 
  
At that time, the El Dorado mine included several tunnels on the property and a two-stamp mill which was in operation 24 hours a day. When the rock was crushed at the stamp mill, the ore was collected and it was alloyed together using mercury. A brick valued at $400 was the final result of Connor’s clean up that month. 
   
It wasn’t a major producer of gold but it was a relevant mine. Production notes state that during these years the mine produced a total of $25,000. This mining property consisted of 40 acres of land which was patented. Then in, 1967 the National Park Service purchased this mining property from a man named Frank Bickford.  
   
Many relics were preserved at the mining site by the National Park Service which are original to the property and were used in the mine. Old long tom's, ore cars, sluice boxes, gold pans and other equipment are locked inside the tool shed and scattered around the bunk house at this mining site. The stamp mill remains there today as well as a quartz crusher that was used. It's an easy .03 miles to the El Dorado mine on the Mill Creek Trail near the historic Camden House for those with children.  

Aditional pics:


The Stamp mill. This photograph was taken by Jeremy Tuggle on April 15, 2015.




Ore cars, long tom's and sluice boxes mixed with other equipment is visible at the El Dorado mine. This photograph was taken by Jeremy Tuggle on April 15, 2015.




Mining equipment with pipe and bricks are located at the El Dorado mining site. This photograph was taken by Jeremy Tuggle on April 15, 2015.




A rocky staircase leading up a slope at the El Dorado mine. This photograph was taken by Jeremy Tuggle on April 15, 2015.




A quartz crusher beside the tool shed at the El Dorado mine. This photograph was taken by Jeremy Tuggle on April 15, 2015.




RESOURCES:

Mining In California, January 1922, published by California State Bureau. District Reports of Mining Engineers by W.B. Tucker. Page 405


Trail Guide: Clear Creek Vista Trail by National Park Service, Whiskeytown National Recreation Area

Sketches of Levi and Charles, Tower House Historic District: A Field Trip Journal Teacher’s Edition.” National Park Service


Small Quartz Mill Averages $40 Daily - The Sacramento Union newspaper, November 22, 1915