Showing posts with label Valentine Doll. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Valentine Doll. Show all posts

Monday, August 18, 2025

PIECES OF HISTORY FROM THE EMPIRE HOTEL AT SHASTA.


Filmed on location.


Come see some unique pieces of history on display at the former Shasta County Courthouse and Museum in (Old) Shasta at what is now the Shasta State Historic Park. These items belonged to the luxurious, commodious, and comfortable, Empire hotel, a three-story brick hostelry, which stood towering above Main Street at Shasta, it offered lodging and meals to the weary travelers passing through the area. This hotel was erected in that town for $30,000 in 1857. It went through many changes of ownership during the years.
This hostelry operated well into the turn of the 20th century, and it was closed down in 1913, later on, it fell into decay and ruins like most of the former buildings of (Old) Shasta did. The Empire hotel was demolished in January of 1923. Its last owner was Sarah J. Hill, a resident of Redding, California. The Empire hotel boasted of the following famous guests lodging here during its prime which included California Governors Standford, Haight and Bigler. Along with Joaquin Miller, the famous Poet of the Sierra's. The lot in Shasta which the former hostelry stood upon has been turned into a park on the left side of the present-day, Shasta County Courthouse and Museum building.
On my maternal side my great-great-great grandparents, Valentine Doll, and his wife, Harriett (Schmidt) Doll stayed here. They were residents settling upon Huling Creek near Eagle Creek (now Ono, California). At one time Valentine Doll operated the local meat market in (Old) Shasta. He was also a local farmer and a miner in the area. On my paternal side my great-great-great-great grandparents George McFarlin, and his wife, Martha (Miller) McFarlin along with their kids, their kids at this time who were actually young adults their youngest being 17 years old, when they stayed here as well. George McFarlin was a local farmer, and this family also resided at Eagle Creek (now Ono). Please like, share, comment and subscribe to my YouTube channel if you haven't yet. Look out for the next episode, article, or blog on my website: Exploring Shasta County History as well.










RESOURCES:

Administrators Sale of Real Estate - The Shasta Courier newspaper of Shasta, March 12, 1853

Terrible Conflagration!! - The Shasta Courier newspaper of Shasta, June 18, 1853

Dissolution - The Shasta Courier newspaper of Shasta, August 13, 1853

The Empire Property for Sale - The Shasta Courier newspaper of Shasta, October 10, 1853

Empire Hotel - The Shasta Republican newspaper of Shasta, January 31, 1857

Empire Hotel - The Shasta Republican newspaper of Shasta, April 4, 1857

The Shasta Courier newspaper of Shasta, January 2, 1858

The Empire Bar - The Shasta Courier newspaper of Shasta, January 30, 1858

Travel - The Shasta Courier newspaper of Shasta, October 30, 1858


Oregon & California Stage Office - The Shasta Courier newspaper of Shasta, July 20, 1872

Anniversary Ball - The Shasta Courier newspaper of Shasta, December 20, 1873

Among Our Citizens - The Shasta Courier newspaper of Shasta, August 24, 1895.

John V. Scott - The Shasta Courier newspaper of Shasta, June 17, 1899

The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, May 4, 1900

Shasta Hotel Man Now in Bankrupt - The Redding Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding,

The Empire at Shasta - The Redding Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, May 7, 1900

For Sale - The Record Searchlight newspaper of Redding, June 21, 1901

The Daily Free Press newspaper of Redding, January 30, 1903

John V. Scott Has Gone to Long Rest - The Free Press newspaper of Redding, December 28, 1904

Old Landmarks to Go - The Sacramento Bee newspaper of Sacramento, January 16, 1923

Two Landmarks Are to Be Town Down - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, January 19, 1923

Mrs. John V. Scott Pioneer Shastain Is Called Beyond - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, July 3, 1924

The Shasta Courier newspaper of Shasta, March 13, 1952

Shasta: The Queen City by Mabel Moores Frisbie and Jean Moores Beauchamp, published by California Historical Society, ©1973.

Shasta State Historic Park Brief History and Tour Guide, published by Shasta State Historic Park, ©July 1985

John Varner Scott: The Shasta Hostelry Man written by Jeremy M. Tuggle, published on March 20, 2019.

Sunday, August 18, 2024

The Cold Storage Cellar of the City Market at Shasta, California.

This historic 10x14 foot cold storage room is situated in the ghost town of Shasta, in Shasta County, California, at Shasta State Historic Park, located near Redding. It was built in the 1850s and utilized by numerous owners and operators of the City Market, a thriving butcher business in town. Coming into a long chain of succession of ownership it became a permanent fixture for local Shastan’s. Find out who, what and more in this video from Exploring Shasta County History. 



Filmed on locations August 5, 2024.



RESOURCES:

Settle Up! - The Shasta Courier newspaper of Shasta, February 20, 1864

The Shasta Courier newspaper of Shasta, August 6, 1864

The Shasta Courier newspaper of Shasta, January 7, 1871

Notice - The Shasta Courier newspaper of Shasta, February 4, 1871

Business Directory - The Shasta Courier newspaper of Shasta, February 10, 1872

The Shasta Courier newspaper of Shasta, June 8, 1878

Destructive Fire in Shasta - The Shasta Courier newspaper of Shasta, August 17, 1878

The Shasta Courier newspaper of Shasta, September 14, 1878

The Shasta Courier newspaper of Shasta, September 28, 1878

The Shasta Courier newspaper of Shasta, April 10, 1880

The Shasta Courier newspaper of Shasta, January 7, 1882

Notice to Creditors - The Shasta Courier newspaper of Shasta, March 11, 1882

1885 Business Directory of Shasta County

Peter Hoff Goes to His Reward - The Free Press newspaper of Redding, December 2, 1902

Peter Hoff’s Funeral - The Free Press newspaper of Shasta, December 3, 1902

Pioneer Resident Called by Death - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, December 3, 1902

Lorrenz Garrecht Dies at Shasta Home - The Free Press newspaper of Redding, January 16, 1905

Shasta County, California A History by Rosena Giles, published by Biobooks, ©1949.

Shasta: The Queen City by Mabel Moores Frisbie and Jean Moores Beauchamp, published by California Historical Society, ©1973.

Shasta State Historic Park Brief History and Tour Guide, published by Shasta State Historic Park, ©July 1985

Valentine Doll written by Jeremy M. Tuggle, the 2011 Covered Wagon, published annually by Shasta Historical Society, pages 43-49. 



Thursday, December 16, 2021

ENTREPRENUER: JOHN DURWOOD WEAST & HIS CONTRIBUTIONS TO SHASTA COUNTY



Above: a young John Durwood Weast. From the collection of Jeremy Tuggle


EARLY LIFE

John Durwood Weast was born to Jacob Gordon Weast and Elizabeth (Reasson) Weast on January 1, 1859, at Palmyra, Fluvanna County, Virginia. At the age of one year old in 1860, John was living with his parents at Rochelle, in Madison County, Virginia. His father was a miller by trade. He was the youngest child in their household at that time, and an older sister by the name of Sarah was living with them at the age of three.

In 1870, the Weast family were living in Rapidan, Madison County, Virginia, which recorded John at the age of eleven years old. His parents kept having additional children as well. John became well-educated throughout his adolescence, and at the age of twenty-one years old he was living with his parents and siblings in Palmyra, Fluvanna County, Virginia, in 1880. This is where he was employed as a miller. 

FIRST MARRIAGE

John was first married to Emma John King about 1881, a native of Fluvanna County, Virginia, and the daughter of Pleasant James King and Mary (Thomas) King. To this union the following children were born to John Durwood Weast and Emma John (King) Weast:

1. Mary Myrtle Weast (1882-1909) married Floyd M. Tyler

2 . Ruby Elizabeth Weast (1885-1981) married Henry U. Rush

3. James Gordon Weast (1888-1963) married Lillian M. Watson

4. Lutie Hazel Weast (1893-1977) married Charles M. Tucker

5. Frank P. Weast (1895-1958) married Juanita M. Arbogast 

Sometime between 1896 and 1898, John and Emma were separated and divorced, a search for their marriage license yielded no results or for any documentation of their divorce. In 1898, John Durwood Weast, enlisted into military service serving his country during the Spanish-American War as a private in Unit 3 Virginia Infantry, Company B., at the age of thirty-nine. Two years later, John was living in the Francisco District, of Buckingham County, Virginia, where he became the hired hand of a man by surname of Baldwin. Weast was working as Baldwin’s farm laborer at that time. The 1900 U.S. Census indicates that he was single. No children were recorded for him and it fails to record him as being divorced, separated or widowed.

As for Emma, she was residing with her children in the Court House Precinct, of Albemarle County, Virginia, where she is recorded as being widowed and the mother of five living children. However, John Durwood Weast was alive and well living in Buckingham County, Virginia, as its detailed in the above record.

ARRIVAL IN SHASTA COUNTY

After divorcing his first wife Weast departed Buckingham County, Virginia, venturing west to California leaving his kids behind with their mother, because he wanted to live near his brothers who were already residing in Redding. John Durwood Weast arrived in Redding during March of 1902, and the March 22, 1902, edition of the Daily Free Press newspaper, of Redding, exclaimed the following about him:

"J.D. Weast, eldest brother of the Weast brothers of this city, is here extrolling the virtues of an insect exterminator. Mr. Weast is a resident of the old state of Virginia." (SIC)

John eventually purchased some property at Copper City, which is where he settled. Copper City was a thriving mining town which featured an U.S. Post Office called Ydalpom. Copper City was situated on Squaw Creek (now under the Squaw Creek arm of Shasta Lake) and the town was in the boundaries of the Pittsburg mining district, of Shasta County. Weast was employed as a teamster for a local mining company in the area.

The 1910 City of Redding Telephone Directory for Shasta, Siskiyou, Tehama and Trinity Counties records him as working at Merrill's Livery Stable at Redding. Merrill’s Livery Stable was owned and operated by Abbott Merrill, a former mayor of Redding. By the time the 1910 U.S. Census was enumerated in April, of that year, it recorded Weast at the age of fifty-one years old living in east Redding and being the head of his household.  

Weast was living with his son James and a boarder named William M. Reidy, at that time, who was employed as hostler at a local livery stable. Eventually, Weast established his own livery stable called J.D. Weast Stables on the corner of Pine and Yuba Streets in downtown Redding.



Above: a J.D. Weast Stables receipt for the account of Jacobson Grocery Company, of Redding, dated May 31, 1917. From the collection of Jeremy Tuggle.



SECOND MARRIAGE 

Three years later, Weast married a second time to Creosa Alma Doll, a daughter of Shasta County pioneers Valentine Doll and Harriett Emma (Smith) Doll, of Ono, on February 23, 1913,  in Redding. This was Creosa's first marriage, and she is the author’s maternal great-great aunt.

Then on, June 16, 1915, the Sacramento Union newspaper of Sacramento, heralded the following article:

"Weast Is Awarded Knob Mail Contract
(Special To The Union)

Redding, (Shasta Co.,), June 15 - Leslie Alward has resigned the mail contract to Knob and Washington has awarded the contract, one of the most important in the state to John D. Weast, well known liveryman, who will take up the work Monday morning. Under the provisions of his contract Weast will get $4,095 a year for handling 600 pounds of mail daily to Knob. All over 600 pounds he will get $1.45 a hundred: 40 cents a hundred to Ono and 25 cents a hundred to Igo. Alward's contract called for $8,400 a year with $200 a hundred over 600 pounds."



Above: one of the trucks belonging to the J.D. Weast Trucking Company, in Redding, is loaded with 14,000 pounds of bridge girders [steel], to be hauled to the La Grange mine near Weaverville in Trinity County. John D. Weast had a contract to haul supplies and additional materials for the La Grange Mining Company. The men in the photograph are employees of Weast., their names are unknown. Circa 1918. Courtesy of Shasta Historical Society.


LATER LIFE EVENTS

In April of 1925, The Searchlight newspaper of Redding reported that, "the railroad commission has granted to John D. Weast of Redding a franchise to operate an automobile passenger, express and freight service between Redding and Pit No. 4, and also between Montgomery Creek and Mud Springs. Weast already has a franchise for a line from Redding through Ingot, Montgomery Creek, Burney and Fall River Mills to Bieber. The franchise just granted authorizes him to operate a branch from his line between Montgomery Creek and Pit No. 4., which is near Big Bend on the Pit. Pit No. 4., will be a busy camp before the year ends. In fact it already has become a little settlement."

Then, in July of that year, Weast was in the process of having a brand-new state of the art building erected in replace of his old building at the corner of Pine and Yuba Streets in downtown Redding for his company, J.D. Weast Trucking (formerly J.D. Weast Stables). A local newspaper mentioned that its  size was:

100x140 feet, is being built of brick and glass and will be one of the finest structures of its kind in this part of the state. When it is completed it will have cost Weast at least $30,000.

However, it caused Weast a major dilemma as he was trying to decide to keep the building for a garage for his business or to turn it into an union stage depot for Redding which was being requested of him to do so by local citizens and staging companies at that time. He eventually kept this building to be used for his garage.

An interesting note is that his ex-wife, Emma, was living in Charlottesville, Virginia in 1929, and she still claimed that she was the widowed wife of J.D. Weast. She must have known that John was alive since their son James lived with him in Shasta County in 1910. Once again, John D. Weast was alive and well residing in northern California, and happily married to Creosa.

Then, on September 11, 1938, John’s first wife Emma John (King) Weast died at the age of seventy-eight years old at Swiss Village, Albemarle County, Virginia. Her death certificate claimed she was divorced from John Durwood Weast. The informant named on the death certificate was their daughter, Lutie (Weast) Tucker.

John Durwood Weast became an active member of the International Order Of Odd Fellows, Reading Lodge No. 271, at Redding, and he continued living with his wife Creosa at 1314 Oregon Street where he died on June 28, 1948 at the age of eighty-nine. After his death, Creosa married a second time to an O. Brown, and she died in Redding on September 25, 1965.



Above: L-R: an elderly John Durwood Weast standing on crutches and wearing a hat, while his second wife, Creosa Alma (Doll) Weast, stands beside him holding a toy doll in front of their Oregon Street residence in Redding. From the collection of Jeremy Tuggle




The headstone of John Durwood Weast (1859-1948), at Redding Memorial Park, in Redding, This photo was taken by Jeremy Tuggle on December 7, 2021.





The headstone of Creosa Alma (Doll) Weast-Brown (1882-1965), at Redding Memorial Park, in Redding. This photograph was taken by Jeremy Tuggle on December 7, 2021.




RESOURCES:


1860 U.S. Census


1870 U.S. Census


1880 U.S. Census


1900 U.S. Census


The Daily Free Press newspaper of Redding, January 8, 1902


The Daily Free Press newspaper of Redding, March 22, 1902


https://www.lva.virginia.gov/chancery/case_detail.asp?CFN=003-1902-052


California, U.S., Voter Registrations, 1900-1968 for John Durwood Weast


1910 U.S. Census


The 1910 City of Redding Telephone Directory for Shasta, Siskiyou, Tehama and Trinity Counties


The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, February 8, 1912


Weast-Doll - The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, February 28, 1913


Redding-Knob Mail Contracted Awarded - The Sacramento Union newspaper of Sacramento, June 1, 1915


Weast Is Awarded Knob Mail Contract - The Sacramento Union newspaper of Sacramento, June 16, 1915


Redding Business Men Raise $1,000 - The Sacramento Union newspaper of Sacramento, July 15, 1916


Shasta Board Grants Auto Stage Permits - The Sacramento Union newspaper of Sacramento, July 14, 1918


1920 U.S. Census

Charlottesville, Virginia, City Directory, 1929, available online through Ancestry.com
Franchise Granted To John D. Weast - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, April 14, 1925


Redding To Have A Union Stage Depot - The Courier-Free Press newspaper, July 31, 1925


1930 U.S. Census


40 Dogs Die By Poisoning At Redding - The Colusa Herald newspaper of Colusa, April 9, 1931


The Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, February 22, 1932


Death Certificate for Emma John (King) Weast dated, September 12, 1938, Albemarle County, Virginia available on Ancestry.com.


1940 U.S. Census


John D. Weast Passes At 89 - The Redding-Record Searchlight and the Courier-Free Press newspaper of Redding, June 28, 1948


Services Set For John D. Weast - The Redding-Record Searchlight and the Courier Free Press newspaper of Redding, June 29, 1948

Friday, February 12, 2021

WILLIAM B. SMITH (1859-1917)


Above: William B. Smith pans for gold along a rocky creek in the Sunny Hill mining district. From the collection of Jeremy Tuggle.


William B. Smith was born to Gottlieb George Kaylor Smith and Elizabeth Jane (Lamberson) Smith, at Eagle Creek (now Ono) on May 10, 1859, and during the following year the Smith’s settled their family at Horsetown. He was the fourth of ten children born to his parents. William was educated at the Eagle Creek schoolhouse in Eagle Creek.

William grew up to be a life-long miner. He also married Elizabeth Rester at Igo on March 12, 1890, the bride was the daughter of John Rester, and his wife Annie. Their wedding was performed by the Reverend William S. Kidder. To this union there were eight children born to them:

1.  Anna Smith

2. Esther May Smith

3. Louisa Bella Smith

4. Gladys Smith

5. Willie B. Smith

6. Earl Douglas Smith 

7. Ruth Elizabeth Smith

8. Howard Smith

William and his wife Elizabeth purchased a residence at Sunny Hill, a few miles from the town of Ono. This is where most of his mining was done in the boundaries of the Sunny Hill mining district of Shasta County. He was a family man and he was a mining partner of Valentine Doll, who was also his brother-in-law, and married to William’s sister, Harriett.

By December of 1897, William B. Smith and Valentine Doll issued advertising Proof Of Labor notices in the local media for the Manzanita and Honeycomb Quartz Mines in the Sunny Hill mining district. There is a real estate transfer in April of 1898, stating the following:

"W.B. Smith and Elizabeth Smith to V. Doll and Hattie E. Doll, F. Barlow. H.A. Root and D.E. Alexander - Bond for deed $3,800 Honcycomb Mine, extension of Honeycomb Mine with mill right, ditch, and water right at Jerusalem Creek, Sec. T.30 N., R., 8., W., also two placer claims included."

William died on November 27, 1917, at Sunny Hill due to an illness of the stomach. There was no doctor present at the time of his death so the coroner was called in from Redding to perform a coroners investigation on his body. William B. Smith is buried at the Redding Cemetery (now Redding Memorial Park) next to his son Willie B. Smith.

William’s wife Elizabeth (Rester) Smith survived her husband by six years. She died on October 14, 1923, she is buried in the same cemetery as her husband. 

Note: Gottlieb George Kaylor Smith and Elizabeth Jane (Lamberson) Smith are the author’s great-great-great-great maternal grandparents, and William B. Smith is my great-great-great maternal uncle. I descend through his sister Harriett Emma (Smith) Doll.




Above: the headstone of William B. Smith at the Redding Memorial Park, in Redding. This photograph was taken by Jeremy Tuggle on January 10, 2021.




Resources:

1860 U.S. Census

1870 U.S. Census

1880 U.S. Census

Married - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, March 22, 1890

Proof Of Labor - The Daily Free Press newspaper of Redding, December 1, 1897

Bond For A Deed - The Daily Free Press newspaper of Redding, April 16, 1898

Proof Of Labor - Honeycomb and Manzanita Quartz mines dated December 27, 1899

1900 U.S. Census

Proof Of Labor - Honeycomb and Manzanita Quartz mines dated January 8, 1901

The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, August 30, 1908

1910 U.S. Census

William B. Smith Dies At Sunny Hill - The Searchlight newspaper of Redding, November 28, 1917

Resident Of Ono, Shasta County, Dies - The Sacramento Union newspaper of Sacramento, November 29, 1917

1920 U.S. Census

Calvin Jefferson Smith, Mining Man written by Thelma Phillips Smith, The 1986 Covered Wagon, published annually by Shasta Historical Society, pages 42-45.

Valentine Doll written by Jeremy M. Tuggle, The 2011 Covered Wagon, published annually by Shasta Historical Society, pages 43-49. 

SP-037.1 Smith, Gottlieb George Kaylor, Pioneer Plaque File available at the Shasta Historical Society.